Hello….is there anybody in there….

Just nod if you can here me…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FrOQC-zEog

Of course it has been a while since I last posted, but unlike Pink Floyd I can’t promise it was worth the wait.

I have a few different odds and sods to post on here.  There have been a few things taking up my spare time.

Work is one of the usual suspects of course, but I also managed to get a roleplaying group going here so that has taken a fair amount of time.  I have also been a bit under the weather too.

Logrim Battlefury by Reaper Miniatures

Logrim Battlefury by Reaper Miniatures

Skeleton sprue from Games Workshop.

Skeleton sprue from Games Workshop.

Logrim Battlefury by Reaper Miniatures

Logrim Battlefury by Reaper Miniatures

Logrim Battlefury by Reaper Miniatures

Logrim Battlefury by Reaper Miniatures

But enough about that.

First off, I will show a quick and dirty conversion.  I know there are far better tutorials, but this is one I hammered out in a few minutes for a friend who wanted a specific mini for his character.  Logrim had some minor surgery and now boasts the maul this cleric handles.

Simple but effective.  So effective, the new owner actually painted it the same night he got it.

As far as challenges would go, this one ranks a 1 on any scale.  Simple cut, drill, and glue.  If it was going to be handled more often or be a showcase mini, I would have bulked out the shaft a bit more.

End of the day, the new owner was happy and he got a mini for nothing.

Bugbear by Reaper Miniatures.

Bugbear by Reaper Miniatures.

Bugbear by Reaper Miniatures.

Bugbear by Reaper Miniatures.

Also getting finished is the first of my Bugbears.  I showed him in a WIP on a previous post, and I put in the minimal time to finish him.

I think it was good timing as Bugbears have played a fairly common enemy of late in the RPG campaign.  A goblin army led by a small cadre of bugbears to be precise.

This is one of the unnamed bugbears, also in the works are the named bugbears, including the charismatic (is that the right adjective for him?) bugbear leader Rogg.

Balazar by Reaper Miniatures.

Balazar by Reaper Miniatures.

Balazar by Reaper Miniatures.

Balazar by Reaper Miniatures.

Balazar by Reaper Miniatures.

Balazar by Reaper Miniatures.

Also getting some painting related to the RPG group is Balazar, one of the Pathfinder iconic characters.  One player created a gnome shaman and I didn’t have a painted figure that matched for it.  The player said he would check his collection, but I found this guy.  This model had been banished to obscurity for two reasons:

  1.  He was one of the models I tried spray primer on with disastrous results.
  2. I thought the Shriner’s hat was goofy.

On the other hand, the character concept of a gnome who found religion and has become a prophet of sorts (the character concept) seemed to fit this guy.  With the direction to go bright and garish, I went Persian meets Hebrew and have this guy.

Sadly my camera was having trouble focusing on him, so this is the best set of pics I could do.  Nothing fancy, but good for table-top.  And I think you will agree that I hit the nail on the head for both garish and bright.

Left to Right: Ranger by Games Workshop, Hayden by Hasslefree Miniatures, Balazar, Demi-Lich and Woody Stumpwimple by Reaper Miniatures.

Left to Right: Ranger by Games Workshop, Hayden by Hasslefree Miniatures, Balazar, Demi-Lich and Woody Stumpwimple by Reaper Miniatures.

There may be those mildly curious about the RPG game so I have included the group picture.  Right now there are 4 players but I have 3 more people who are eager to play…who knew I worked with so many nerds?

Working from Left  to Right: the human Ranger, the dwarf battlerager, the gnome shaman, the gnome’s spirit companion, and the Halfling thief.  Yes, the party is very much vertically challenged.  And in need of touch-ups and sealing in the case of Hayden.  She has gotten quite the bit of handling and play-time.

A short post today, but hopefully inspirational.  If nothing else, for you to check with your coworkers and other groups of friends to see if they too are secretly harbouring their own geeky tendencies.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Hello….is there anybody in there….”

  1. Chen-song Qin says :

    Heh, I have that armoured dwarf Reaper Bones character too, and I’m painting him right now. It looks decent enough.

Leave a comment