HOTT Fantasy Army

As a first post I figure a good place to start is a project that I finished with a bit of timeline motivation.

I had cobbled together my first 28mm HOTT army from some spare Lord of the Rings models in my bits box.  With a few other spare figures I built my army of Melnibonea.  A future post will showcase them I am sure.

The reason I mention the other army is I wanted a striking contrast for the opposing army I would build.  As my wife has enjoyed a few games (mostly Confrontation) I asked for her input.  The result was an army influenced by “traditional” fantasy like the Carrol, Lewis, or Grimm stories.

I figured nature spirits would be a good basis for the forces of nature and good rising up against an oppressive empire.  Here are a few pics of the sculpts for these spirits.  I was inspired by Jim Henson’s work in 80’s fantasy films so yes, the googly eyes were intentional.

Greens4

Greens of a vine monster, an animate pile of rocks, and a more traditional rock monster

More greens.  I was inspired by the aliens from Sesame Street for the tree spirit in the back right.

More greens. I was inspired by the aliens from Sesame Street for the tree spirit in the back right.

Finished forest spirits.

Finished forest spirits.

Finished forest spirits from reverse angle.

Finished forest spirits from reverse angle.

More forest spirits.  Note the bush monster.

More forest spirits. Note the bush monster.

More forest spirits, order reversed.  The giant hand and peeping eye is my favorite.

More forest spirits, order reversed. The giant hand and peeping eye is my favorite.

The combined forest spirit might.

The combined forest spirit might.

The forest spirits form the back-bone for the army and count as Warbands in HOTT.

Unicorn

A unicorn conversion from a LOTR Rider of Rohan horse.  I repositioned the legs and it has become the bane of my existence as the glue point on the base constantly gives way.  The unicorn counts as a paladin in HOTT.

Converted from cheap animal toys with greenstuff armour.

Converted from cheap animal toys with greenstuff armour.

My oldest daughter has quite the collection of beasties and I managed to raid these few.  Armour was added to give the impression of intelligent animals.  The lion is close to horse sized – so this is often the general (I don’t know where the inspiration for a giant talking lion leading an army could come from).  Count as Beasts in HOTT.

Centaurs converted from LOTR Riders of Rohan.

Centaurs converted from LOTR Riders of Rohan.

I added barding to the horse bodies by extending the armour from the rider torso into the horse forequarters.  I am happiest with the Appalosa scale armour.  Count as Riders in HOTT.

 

Angels converted from LOTR Galadriel and Celeborn.

Angels converted from LOTR Galadriel and Celeborn.

Sitting unused these models sprouted a set of wings to act as angels/fairies to provide air support.  Count as Flyers in HOTT.

I’m not the happiest with the quality of painting I did on these models.  I rushed it and was going for an “across the table” level of quality.  I may go back and retouch these.  Eyes need picking out and a more subtle blending of colors is needed for the fabrics and furs.  The only “human” element is not pictured as they were the most rushed.  Since their purpose is to guard the camp they will be furthest from the action – and discriminating eyes.

The whole army consists of: 1x Beasts element (General), 4x Warband elements (nature spirits), 1x Paladin element (unicorn), 2x Riders elements (centaurs), and 2x Flyers (angels).  It provides a lot of movement and flexibility, especially in any sort of cover.  Facing heroes, knights, behemoths or blades it has some difficulty in the open – a perfect counter-point to the Melnibonean army I built.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

