Squint really hard and kick the imagination bone…

So the scratch built vehicle is more or less put together now.  I have a few changes I may make down the road, but overall this is the final product.  As I intend to build at least two more, they may see some changes.

The biggest things I am unhappy with was the positioning of the road wheels.  With such a compact design there are limits to where they can go.  Ultimately it was my positioning of the torsion bars on backwards that made it look off.

The tracks also caused some concern.  One track shifted slightly when I placed pieces on the road wheels/idler.  The next track I did as a single piece with scoring on the treads…that worked a bit better.  But, the tracks lifted off of the idler a bit.  Still, I learned lessons and the next one will be easier.

Without further ado:

DSCF6093 DSCF6097 DSCF6100 DSCF6103

In all it’s unpainted glory.  But, it is sometimes tough to gauge scale…so the Games Workshop Chimera model for comparison:

DSCF6095 DSCF6098 DSCF6101 DSCF6104 DSCF6110 DSCF6111

It looks substantially smaller until you actually look at the various details.  It is a bit shorter, but the lack of a full turret (and ring) and slightly smaller passenger compartment make most of the size difference.  It is a lower profile vehicle, but really isn’t too much lower in height.

Either way, I think it makes a very unique command variant.  If I decide I want more than 5 APCs (2 basic and 3 command variants) I will modify the plans for these to make longer ones to fit the full complement of troops.

Overall, I am pretty happy with how this turned out.  The next stage is painting, so it will likely be the next post on this blog.  I learned a lot putting this together and the next one will go much faster.  Or should I say ones…I intend to put the remaining two together at once.  It will save time on sketching, measuring and cutting card if it is just duplicates of the same templates.  After those are done…well there are a few other vehicle designs I am pondering and also those Persians and Emperor’s Children to paint, also the infantry to go with the tanks have to get finished and…of course I have to mention the Romans – 20th on the list of projects (I’m low-balling in case they read this).

Hopefully something here inspired somebody.

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Squint really hard and kick the imagination bone…”

  1. Chen-song says :

    Nice work so far Stu! Are you starting to play 40k now?

Leave a Reply

