Random Projects

DSCF6377

So once again the Persians have been pre-empted for a bit of something different.

I have decided I will do a dungeon crawler game (of some sort) using 3d terrain and a diverse collection of figures.  I intend to write my own rules because, at the end of the day most of the games are only slightly different and I would be paying a steep premium for cardboard since I will be making my own dungeons (probably with Hirst Arts molds).

 

Harley Brimstone by Reaper Miniatures

Harley Brimstone by Reaper Miniatures

Harley Brimstone by Reaper Miniatures

Harley Brimstone by Reaper Miniatures

 

Up first is the plucky fighter.  More of an impulse purchase, I like his random assorted pieces of armour and general disrepair he elicits.  There are the whole posters with the “How I see myself, How others see me”.  I think this is the how most starting adventurers would really look.  I tried doing a shadow/light effect on his arm and wasn’t too happy so did a wash to cover it up.

Brother Roberto by Reaper Miniatures

Brother Roberto by Reaper Miniatures

Brother Roberto by Reaper Miniatures

Brother Roberto by Reaper Miniatures

Brother Roberto is something of an oddity for most miniatures: a priest who could probably walk up to the pulpit without many raised eyebrows.  I am not too happy with his lantern, I was trying to do a dim incense type light but it doesn’t look quite right.  Otherwise, I like the simple effect.  He does carry a massive hammer from his pack, so he is over-armed like most RPG characters.

Anirion Wood Elf Mage by Reaper Miniatures

Anirion Wood Elf Mage by Reaper Miniatures

Anirion Wood Elf Mage by Reaper Miniatures

Anirion Wood Elf Mage by Reaper Miniatures

This plucky little wizard has a very subtle glowing eyes effect I can’t seem to capture on the camera.  Believe it or not, this model was a Bones miniature.

As an aside, Reaper came out with a plastic version of their miniatures (some of the line anyways) called Bones.  The plastic isn’t the usual hard plastic, but more of the spongy soft plastic used for toys.  I was hesitant, but at $2.00 (ish) for a miniature (vice $6-10 for the others I’m showing) I was willing to try.  The plastic is a bit different to work with.  It requires a different technique to trim mold-lines and flash more akin to whittling than the normal shaving.  Files create fuzz and little else.  I did most of the mold lines, but a few in awkward spots were missed.  One added thing to note is they can only be reshaped with heat.  It is a simple enough process, but added inconvenience if you haven’t done it before.  I reshaped his staff, then bent it with my tongs.  Ooops.  It did reshape again easy enough.

As another aside, Bones has run a second KickStarter for Bones.  Something like 200 figs for $100.  It is over, but you can still get in on it (at $150 or so).  Guess what I took advantage of.

The camera shy Gnome/Dwarf/Halfling thief has no close-ups as I can’t seem to upload his pictures.

DSCF6379

I do also have a few more of the Lord of the Rings dwarves complete, bringing the current total to 12.

Hopefully something here sparked your interest or enthusiasm.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Random Projects”

  1. Argentbadger says :

    Nice painting, I like the slightly subdued style of the colours. They’ll look good marching through dungeon corridors. It always feels quite nice to be able to start and finish a project so easily too.

Leave a Reply

