Some camera help

Since the beginning of this blog I have made apologies for my bad photography.  I recently got some advice to help transform me from a terrible photographer to just plain old awful.

As an example I present a comparison:

Harley Brimstone by Reaper Miniatures

Harley Brimstone by Reaper Miniatures

Harley Brimstone by Reaper Miniatures

Harley Brimstone by Reaper Miniatures

 

First we see my old picture with wrong light settings and a wash-out effect from the background.  Then we see it clear and crisp and my botched attempt at painting a light source.

Rather than bore you with plain old pictures I present a nearly finished model:

Astrid Female Bard by Reaper Miniatures

Astrid Female Bard by Reaper Miniatures

From above, with a close light source.

Astrid Female Bard by Reaper Miniatures

Astrid Female Bard by Reaper Miniatures

Astrid Female Bard by Reaper Miniatures

Astrid Female Bard by Reaper Miniatures

And from below with a slightly more distant light source.

I went with classic Fender Stratocaster colouring to evoke classic rock.  Not too sure if I want to do pupils or eyebrows for her as the solid eye does seem more fey.  Naturally the green hair evokes both punk rocker and fantasy elf, so this allows a figure for either fantasy or modern games.  Going to base her shortly and try to smooth out the washes on the armour.

Hopefully something inspired you today, if nothing else showing an old dog can learn new tricks.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

