I live…again

Ok, maybe a bit melodramatic. It has been a very busy couple of months with work so no updates online.

As a bit of irony, as I sat down I realized I have some work in progress models that would make a good post. So undead models to raise my blog from the death of absence.

Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures

Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures

Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures

Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures

This is a wonderful sculpt by Reaper I picked up. I very much like the character of the model. I went for a tarnished armour effect which worked very well and the crystal ball in the staff turned out pretty well I think. I am not happy with the bones. It came out too white and hopefully a wash can make it appear a bit more grim. A bit of free-hand on the crystal he is holding turned out very well from a table-top perspective I think.

Games Workshop Skeletons...and other bits.

Games Workshop Skeletons…and other bits.

Games Workshop Skeletons...and other bits.

Games Workshop Skeletons…and other bits.

I had a few unpainted Games Workshop skeletons kicking around and I thought what better use than as minions for the lich-like mystic. I did a heavy wash over the eyes with a bright blue to capture the whole glowing eyes look. Up close it shows a few errant strokes but from a distance it really looks like glowing eyes. The dried bones were set to capture faded and worn bones. And of course the rust wash turned out very well I think.

And what would be complete without the family photo.

The undead horde thus far.

The undead horde thus far.

Hopefully something inspired you today, if nothing else it shows I’m not quite dead yet. Damn, mixing movie metaphors again.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

