Works in Progress

This weekend has given me a bit of time to paint and a couple of miniatures have gotten closer to finished.

First up, the Scooby Doo white face has been toned down a bit.

Before:

Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures

Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures

After:

Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures

Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures

I was expecting to have to do a few washes but one wash mixed the right tone did a good job I think.

Next we have an elf I had sitting on my painting table.

Lord of the Rings elf by Games Workshop

Lord of the Rings elf by Games Workshop

Lord of the Rings elf by Games Workshop

Lord of the Rings elf by Games Workshop

I wanted to paint a grey mottled cloak. In the Lord of the Rings the cloaks given by Galadriel were described as a muted grey that seemed to shift colour but was otherwise unremarkable. I put a scratch on the cheek by accident as much as anything. I wanted to try free-handing a tattoo but my initial brush strokes looked more like scratches so I left them as is.

Having a few minis waiting for basing gives the opportunity for an impromptu diorama:

Elves versus undead.

Elves versus undead.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

