Dungeon Down Redux

Ok, maybe not a redux, but it is an update.  Dramatic titles aside, I do have the dungeon tiles painted.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

For the crystal ball I intentionally used a thick white paint and swirled it onto the ball.  The brush strokes and patchy coverage give a mystical look.  In this picture you see an over-exposed white patch.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

The bars look exactly as I predicted: like wooden sticks with paint on them.  Fortunately on the table the natural shadow hides most imperfections.  I did consider giving them a rust wash but I am concerned it would draw attention to the bars and of course make them obviously wood.  At some point some did shift a bit so there are a few gaps at the top.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

 

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

The wood really stands out on these pieces.  I did a dark brown (nearly black) base followed by successive chestnut brown and chalky grey dry brushing.  For future pieces I am undecided if I want to keep pieces separate to paint.  The barrel fortunately came unglued during painting so it was easy to paint and reattach.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Nothing particularly fancy about this one.  I opted for a black base coat then heavy dry brush of grey followed by spot colouring of random stones followed by a very light grey highlight.  The random stones colour I based on the gravel mixture used around here.  Mostly grey crush ballast but with light and dark brown stones and these odd blue ones.  There are also pink ones in the gravel but those would look out of place here I think.  After I was on my second piece I realized it was similar to the Dwarven Forge colour scheme.  I guess their artists are used to the same gravel mixture too.

I also did throw together a few treasure counters.

Hirst Arts accessories as treasure tokens

Hirst Arts accessories as treasure tokens

Hirst Arts accessories as treasure tokens

Hirst Arts accessories as treasure tokens

Not pictured are two more chests.  I am not sure how many the game I am designing would need, probably not many more than the 8 I have done so far.  Four of these markers also doubled as 40K objective markers in a game this weekend.

Hirst Arts accessories as treasure tokens.  Marius Burrowell by Reaper Miniatures

Hirst Arts accessories as treasure tokens. Marius Burrowell by Reaper Miniatures

Hirst Arts accessories as treasure tokens.  Harley Brimstone by Reaper Miniatures

Hirst Arts accessories as treasure tokens. Harley Brimstone by Reaper Miniatures

What I see as an important role for these treasure counters in the game is as cover.  As Marius demonstrates the lower tokens provide him ample cover while he can completely hide from sight behind the higher ones.  Harley would opt for the crates of course.  Of course cover will be a two-way street with the monsters cowering as much as the heroes.  So I see these piles of crates and even treasure chests as an obstacle as much as a goal during fights.

And of course the gratuitous action shot:

Hirst Arts modular dungeon is explored by cautious adventurers

Hirst Arts modular dungeon is explored by cautious adventurers

Hopefully something inspired you today.  If nothing else, I can tell you the Hirst Arts is easy to assemble and takes paint fairly well if you expect your first coat to be soaked in like dried wood.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Dungeon Down Redux”

  1. daggerandbrush says :

    Very nice dungeon layout. I really like the treasure tokens you made. Which sprues did you usw for shields and weapons?

Leave a Reply

