My Precioussss

 

Not a Ring of Power.

Not a Ring of Power.

Ok, so not quite Gollum-esque but bear with me.

I had a bit of time to work on some miniatures last night so I finished the modules that were half done and also got my treasure markers finished.  Now anybody who has played any sort of role-playing games will realize that treasure is far more precious to adventurers than even the One Ring was to Sméagol.

I won’t bore you with pictures of the finished modules except to show one detail: a rusty lever.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Switch

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Switch

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Switch

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Switch

Nothing too exciting here, except for the depth to the rust wash.  I actually like how my cheap old craft paints can do a quasi-mixed pigment to have each streak slightly different in colour…of course if properly mixed they stay uniform colour.

Anyhow, the toothpick lever at real scale looks like pitted and rusty steel.  At this zoomed in level, well it still looks like a piece of wood.  I think I will try with wood one more time (the portcullis) and if it still looks like painted wood, onto plastic rod I go.  Although I did receive a suggestion of using wire and that may be worth considering too.

But enough about esoteric discussions on scale modeling, I’m sure most of you came for the money shot.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token

Ok, bad pun I know.  The sword is by Wargames Factory the coin pile was dry-brushed with metallic paint and washed.  I may opt for glitter for future coin piles but these do look acceptable I think.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token

Probably my favorite of the tokens, again weapon supplied by Wargames Factory the remainder are Hirst Arts bits.  I am not sure if I want to corrode the bronze as well with a green oxidization wash.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token

Two of the three treasure chests.  A bit washed out by the light, but I also over did it a bit on the dry-brushing.  The broken bits of metal bands got a heavy rust wash.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token

Again, a bit heavy on the dry-brushing.  I am not sure if I want to put any contents in the broken barrel.  I am thinking some green flock in the bottom and rising up the sides like some spreading mold.  As I am doing these pieces I can’t help but think of the nastiest monsters from my early days of D&D.  Things like rot grubs, toxic molds, and ravenous fungus.  I kept thinking then that nobody would ever handle these disgusting things for risk of monsters.  Now, I realize they would be quite nasty.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token

The Shield Treasures.  Again Wargames Factory Celts have surrendered some bits to build these.  I really like how the shields pop and stand out.

Now as my regular readers are used to, the action shots.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token.  Marius Burrowell by Reaper Miniatures

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token. Marius Burrowell by Reaper Miniatures

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token.  Marius Burrowell by Reaper Miniatures

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token. Marius Burrowell by Reaper Miniatures

Spoiled for choice Marius Burrowell, gentleman explorer ponders which treasure to loot first.  The chest is the most obvious as it will screen him from any hidden arrows.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token.  Anirion Wood Elf Mage by Reaper Miniatures

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token. Anirion Wood Elf Mage by Reaper Miniatures

The mage looks around perplexed.  He could have sworn the gnome was here a moment ago, and the treasure is untouched…

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token.  Anirion Wood Elf Mage by Reaper Miniatures.  Games Workshop Dunedain from the Lord of the Rings.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token. Anirion Wood Elf Mage by Reaper Miniatures. Games Workshop Dunedain from the Lord of the Rings.

The ranger makes effective use of the stack of crates to shield himself as he snipes at monsters while the mage bravely (foolishly?) stands in the open while muttering eldritch incantations.

Hopefully something inspired you today, if nothing else to try making some easy but pretty treasure, objective, or other tokens.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “My Precioussss”

  1. Argentbadger says :

    That looks great. Seeing the whole ensemble fully painted with adventures dungeoneering for treasure is really inspiring. I bet you’ll have many great games on it.

Leave a Reply

