The Gauntlet

I have had some spare time to work on miniatures these past week so have quite a few things to show off.

As the title implies…the Gauntlet is finished.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Although it is bigger than the other pieces thus far, it isn’t a departure at all.  The colours and techniques remained the same.  Well almost.  First I had to add in the repair where the metal part of my brush scraped off paint stage.  That is almost as fun as it sounds.  Second I added in a bit of blood spatter and staining.  The picture below shows the gore-stained pillars from an unknown number of previous ambushes.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

But wait…there’s more.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

The doorway module is finished.  I am very happy with the rust effect and how the piece fits on and blends in well enough while still being removable.  There is a bit of tragedy to report.  As I put away this piece following the picture the door fell five feet to concrete.  End result is the corner of the door is chipped.  Yes, I was as surprised as you likely are.  In the words of Marvin the Martian: where was the earth-shattering boom?  I guess I did hit the nail right for a solid mixture.  The door is not ruined but will require a repaint.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

The portcullis module is also finished.  I see now my rust wash pooled on one brick and should be cleaned.  I do ask you astute readers: does it seem believable as iron bars?

So that wraps up the post for today…wait, the ACTION SHOT:

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.  Assorted figures by Reaper Miniatures and Games Workshop.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon. Assorted figures by Reaper Miniatures and Games Workshop.

With the Gauntlet complete I have a good central piece to showcase the modules thus far.  Obviously this isn’t all of them as I only had limited space.  Although the odd modules don’t line up exactly perfect, I am happy with the effect and look.  Pictured here the adventures (Reaper miniatures including: Harley Brimstone, Anirion Wood Elf Mage, Astrid Female Bard, and Brother Roberto) face hordes of monsters (Games Workshop goblins and skeletons and Reaper Barrow Warden Mystic).

And I will not play it up too much, but I do have several other pieces in the process of being painted.  The one I will show today is my second room: the store-room.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

A fairly dynamic room I think it will make a good location for combats.  Having learned my lesson of fiddly painting with the Gauntlet, all the pieces are removable for painting and I will permanently anchor them once painted.  There is also a secret in the room, I encourage you to find it.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.  Shaerileth, Spider Demoness by Reaper Miniatures.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon. Shaerileth, Spider Demoness by Reaper Miniatures.

And kind of an action shot showing off another work in progress,  Shaerileth Spider Demoness.  I have opted for a colour scheme reminiscent of the very large spiders we get around here and where I grew up.  We called them humpbacks but I guess they are European orb spiders.  Although, the size is much larger than my research turned up: I have seen some that are the size of a thumb (3cm/over and inch) sized body.  The mottled brown pattern will not be as ominous as a black widow, but hopefully it will make most arachnophobes shudder.

Hopefully something inspired you today, and remember, if you see a giant creepy looking animal make sure to take pictures so you can replicate it in miniature.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Gauntlet”

  1. daggerandbrush says :

    The rooms really came out nicely and will provide a dynamic battle field. Looking foward to the painted storage room.

Leave a Reply

