Walking Wounded

So the other day one of the local wargamers was asking who wanted some models he was getting rid of.  I was interested in what he was offering so asked him what he wanted.  He gave a list and I was pretty sure I had those so told him I would check my boxes of bits and dusty models and get back to him.

In the end I didn’t have what he wanted but he still wanted to give me what he was offering.  So I thought about it and decided I would build him one of his requests: a Chaos Deadnought (that’s a GamesWorkshop 40K miniature).  I have never built a walker but had considered the construction before and figured it would not only be a fun project…it would give me something.  Oh, and provide a proof of concept for some crazy walker models I had in mind…keep an eye on this space as at least one of those walker ideas may bump the Hellhound tanks down in priority (think Hellhound in a more literal sense and you get when my twisted mind is wandering).

The photos are terrible as they were just snapped quickly with my phone and I am actually away from home right now so there won’t be better pics for a while.

Hull Photo

Hull Photo

Hull Photo

Hull Photo

The basic hull was thrown together quickly while watching a movie in one night.  The first picture shows scale with a ruler.  The basic concept of the dreadnought is a life-support battle suit.  Critically injured veteran soldiers are entombed in this machine of death.  The flavor text for the Chaos versions has become very grim as they call it a torture.  If nothing else, the soldiers in the dreadnoughts are kept fully conscious even when the machine is powered down and other soldiers are in stasis.  A bit disturbed.

Basic leg design

Basic leg design

Basic leg design

Basic leg design

The leg mounts tend to be a bit more crude and rugged compared to other sci-fi walkers so I have chosen an angled axis with custom rounded tubes for legs.  The legs will be modified to include hydraulic tubes and plates to the front.  I will detail the join and cover it with what looks like an articulating rotator cuff.  If you know tie rods attach to an axel you have the basic idea.

Lascannon

Lascannon

Lascannon

Lascannon

Lascannon

Lascannon

The chosen shooting weapon is a twin-linked lascannon.  I wanted to make it a bit more cobbled together so I went with offset and angled weapons.  The join to the housing will be filled in at a couple gaps and sensors will be added into the gap above the outside gun.  I will also be adding cables and wires dangling down out of the housing into the barrels to match the 40k stylized old-tech new-tech imagery.  The gun-arm will be mounted to a peg with minor details sculpted (that will not be very visible) to give the sense of realistic movement and depth to the walker.  The barrel ends will likely come from my bits box as mechanical leering demon heads although I may opt for a more standard lascannon barrel end.

The left arm will be a melee weapon of sorts.  The local wargamer has already started building the weapon himself (he is pretty excited about the project) so I will just be making the arm and mount.

Of course what you see so far is just the basic shapes and blocks.  I intend to add embellishment and possibly even a leering demonic face to the front of the hull.  The basic embellishment will be framing around edges to give more depth and the stylized 8-pointed star that defines Chaos in the 40k setting.  Spikes and maybe some quasi bio-mechanical parts are on my list of possibilities too.

Hopefully something inspired you today, if nothing else to see if your talents in miniatures might go towards helping you help others.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

