2015 – Year of the Unfinished Projects

I am sure this title can be interpreted many ways:

  • A typo in my summary of my success at completing projects last year.
  • A prophetic vision of the outcome of this year.
  • Or a simply defined goal.

Like many miniature hobbyists, I have countless unfinished projects.  This year I have decided to focus on finishing (some of) them, and that means going back to some older ones.

Half-timbered row house terrain.  Est. circa 2009.

Half-timbered row house terrain. Est. circa 2009.

Half-timbered row house terrain.  Est. circa 2009.

Half-timbered row house terrain. Est. circa 2009.

First we have part of my ambitious town project.  I intended to start small (with a square) for use in Confrontation (and other 28mm games).  I did detailed work and actually built each building individually to reinforce stability and provide the slightly off-kilter appearance these buildings show in European towns and cities.  At the far right the building with no timber shows where the project stalled.  The edging was a bit tedious but mostly other projects (and life responsibilities) took over.  I was reminded of my goal when I played a game of 40K recently and used this to fill some table space.  Goal for this year: finish this building strip and complete at least one more row.

Dwarf ruins for use in Games Workshop Lord of the Rings.

Dwarf ruins for use in Games Workshop Lord of the Rings.

Dwarf ruins for use in Games Workshop Lord of the Rings.

Dwarf ruins for use in Games Workshop Lord of the Rings.

Next we have the start of some dwarven ruins for use in Lord of the Rings.  I actually have a few pieces I intended to use as scatter terrain.  What was completed was finished in one weekend.  The intent was to build terrain for the battle of Balin’s Tomb from the main rules.  I have a Fellowship and I figured this would give me a reason to finish painting them.  After the initial flurry of activity, little else was done.  This particular piece needs paper cladding and work to define the raw stone (Styrofoam) vs worked stone (foamcore).  Also completed were a small plaza and raw stone building with stairs to a higher level.  Goal for this year: finish the 3 pieces started and three more scatter terrain pieces.

Devil Dog half-finished project receiving a new powertrain.

Devil Dog half-finished project receiving a new powertrain.

The next unfinished project is much more recent, in fact it was one of my stated goals to finish in 2014.  Instead of using the light tank, I will instead turn the two hulls (and add another) into a wheeled IFV to proxy as a Razorback for my 40K Space Marines.  As they will be filling out an existing army, I see them as more likely to be finished.  Goal for this year: build 3 Razorback scratch-builds.

Now I am sure some of the more regular readers will notice that I have a long gap in posts, and nothing here mentions the HOTT Orcs.  Well, as I mentioned in my last post, the rust wash was a bit over-done on the orcs.  It pretty much crushed my morale on these figs as the rust wash was the last part and now I am not sure if I can repair it or I need to go the route of stripping.  Here are a few pics.

Games Workshop Lord of the Rings Uruk-Hai count as spears in my Orc HOTT Army.

Games Workshop Lord of the Rings Uruk-Hai count as spears in my Orc HOTT Army.

Games Workshop Lord of the Rings Uruk-Hai count as spears in my Orc HOTT Army.

Games Workshop Lord of the Rings Uruk-Hai count as spears in my Orc HOTT Army.

The second picture was done with a shadow to show just how rusted out they are.  I have seen metal that rusted, but normally they were pieces of heavy machinery left in a field for decades.  I have had a few opinions and universally they are not good.  But, despite being discouraging, I will pick up the brush and finish this project.  Goal for this year: finish my orc HOTT army.

Now this isn’t to say I expect all my time to go onto these projects, and this year I will expect some other random things to get thrown at me.  I will be doing more Hirst Arts dungeon pieces.  To tie into that, by summer (hopefully) I will have my Bones 2 Kickstarter miniatures…roughly 100 figs to populate my dungeon and provide more painting fodder for my voracious 5 year-old daughter who is taking up the brush.  I have also been taking my time to finish a few choice models, a novelty for me.  I also am thinking about how to do a better modern/sci-fi city scape and I might go to Blade Runner, the new Total Recall, and 3rd World Slums for ideas to do some terrain for skirmish.

Of course that also brings up the small collection of a small strike team I bought and haven’t assembled/painted…

But all of this is not to say that last year was a wasted year.  In the span of this year I managed to build (and paint) a small dungeon.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.  Reaper Miniatures Pathfinder Goblin.  Hassle Free Miniatures Hayden.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon. Reaper Miniatures Pathfinder Goblin. Hassle Free Miniatures Hayden.

I also completed a scratch-built dreadnought in a relatively short timespan…well short considering my work responsibilities and trips during that time.

Dread_update53

And let’s not forget the completion of not 1…

General and his red tunic

General and his red tunic

Scorpion Artillery.  Miniatures by Warlord Games

Scorpion Artillery. Miniatures by Warlord Games

Why so tense, the Optio isn't around...

Why so tense, the Optio isn’t around…

Not two…

Early Achaemenid Persians by Wargames Factory.

Early Achaemenid Persians by Wargames Factory.

Sparabara.  Miniatures by Wargames Factory.

Sparabara. Miniatures by Wargames Factory.

All miniatures Wargames Factory.  6 units of a Persian Army.

All miniatures Wargames Factory. 6 units of a Persian Army.

But three DBA armies.

A closer look at the hordes.  All plastic models Wargames Factory, metal miniatures by Warlord Games.

A closer look at the hordes. All plastic models Wargames Factory, metal miniatures by Warlord Games.

Chariot from the obverse.  The halters and yoke are detailed and cry-out for the attachment of reins.

Chariot from the obverse. The halters and yoke are detailed and cry-out for the attachment of reins.

Wargames Factory Celt Cavalry.  In different armies these can count as either cavalry or light horse.  There will be one more unit of cavalry that will be a general option.

Wargames Factory Celt Cavalry. In different armies these can count as either cavalry or light horse. There will be one more unit of cavalry that will be a general option.

Ok, maybe two and a half since the Brittons/Gauls/Galatians aren’t painted.

I also painted quite a few single miniatures.

Faceless Horror by Reaper Miniatures

Faceless Horror by Reaper Miniatures

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.  Reaper Miniatures Pathfinder Goblin

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon. Reaper Miniatures Pathfinder Goblin

Reaper Miniatures Harvey Brimstone, Astrid Female Bard, Mummy Warriors and Mummy Captain

Reaper Miniatures Harvey Brimstone, Astrid Female Bard, Mummy Warriors and Mummy Captain

Marius Burrowell and Mocking Beast by Reaper Miniatures

Marius Burrowell and Mocking Beast by Reaper Miniatures

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token.  Anirion Wood Elf Mage by Reaper Miniatures.  Games Workshop Dunedain from the Lord of the Rings.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token. Anirion Wood Elf Mage by Reaper Miniatures. Games Workshop Dunedain from the Lord of the Rings.

DSCF6438 DSCF6143

Astrid Female Bard by Reaper Miniatures

Astrid Female Bard by Reaper Miniatures

Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures

Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon Treasure Token

A longer post than usual for me, and quite heavy on pictures (even if most are recycled).  I encourage all the folks out there to set goals but be flexible.  There is a lot of time and effort that goes into this hobby, and the minute it starts feeling like work is the time it stops being fun.  It is all that wandering from project to project that defines the enjoyment of the hobby.  Having the freedom to walk away from a project that has lost its grip on your attention is part of what keeps it enjoyable.  The ability to pick up a new one also keeps those embers smoldering.  If nothing else, I hope this post inspires you to revisit what attracted you to this hobby in the first place.  Hmmm, seems a bit like a Hallmark card there.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “2015 – Year of the Unfinished Projects”

  1. Argentbadger says :

    Good luck completing all those projects! I think that there may be something in the nature of hobbyists that we move onto the new hotness that motivates us, leaving a trail of unfinished work behind us. I think you can take pride in the many things you did complete (and shared with the world via your blog) as inspirational.

    • hosercanadian says :

      Thanks for the feedback. I agree that the nature of this hobby and how it seems to encourage a plethora of started projects and a much smaller number of finished projects.

Leave a Reply

