Google, analog version

The past couple of days have given me a bit of time to work on some projects and a trip to the hardware store yesterday meant the missing insulation foam has been purchased.  For those interested, I will provide a running commentary on how this insulation holds up.  All my previous pieces were done with blue (high density) insulation foam whereas I bought pink foam this time (slightly lower density).  It turns out the hardware store in this small town doesn’t stock the blue stuff, but the pink is substantially cheaper so I don’t think my test will result in much worse than lost time if it turns out to be less robust.  I have worked with the pink stuff before almost exclusively.  In fact, a friend and I built a modular table as a gift for a couple that games together (we game new modules after the initial few piece were given).  Since they were the first in the group to have kids it limited the ability to go out to game.  So we built the initial table as a Christmas gift and subsequent modules as other gifts.  Long story short, it is pretty sturdy and robust.  The weight of the modules I am concerned may drop the height a few millimeters.

Anyhow, I managed to use up my stockpile of floor tiles doing the lay-out for two rooms “spider-room” and “library”.  This is my first library and I eventually want several of them, including one with multiple levels and staircases.  What can I say, I love libraries.  I used to love going through them and seeing what I could discover.  I remember finding a second edition Nuremburg Trials transcript at my university tucked away (which is actually older than the institution) and being so excited.  It was the kind of unexpected mystery find I was always hoping for in libraries since I was a kid.  Well that and secret tunnels and dungeons when you pulled the right book or moved a piece of furniture.  I watched a lot of mystery shows as a kid, and not just Scooby Doo.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

As the basic layout shows it will have very restricted lines of sight.  I left lots of room to move and still place treasure tokens while still giving the enclosed feel of a library.  The shelves are bare now, but I will set to work on making books, scrolls and the odd doo-dad to stock them.  The table will have a few books as well.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Being creative and innovative, I thought a secret door behind a bookcase has never been done before.  Ok, so it is a stereotype, but it looks cool.  The shelves aren’t glued yet to allow ease of paint the rest of the module and of course stock the shelves.  As the shelves broke in the mold several cracks were left when I glued them back together.  I think it adds to the character of the decrepit library feel.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon. Reaper Miniatures Jolie Female Scribe

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon. Reaper Miniatures Jolie Female Scribe

Not too action oriented, but here is a miniature I bought for use as a female wizard.  I saw it and actually thought of a character my wife played in DnD ages ago.  Her character was always looking for new knowledge and mysterious objects but my wife didn’t know the references most of what she found pointed to (Lovecraft Mythos, famous canon sorcerers like Mordekainen, Bigby, etc).  So in the end she (my wife) always puzzled over what she found.  This mini made me think of how her character must have been.

Hopefully something was inspiring today, if nothing else to go to your local library.  Maybe you can work with the meddlesome kids to stop old man Jenkins.  Or maybe you can just read a good book.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

