Random Works in Progress

It has a been a while since I have done any updates so I decided it was time to maybe throw a few up online.  I have actually accomplished more than what is shown, but these each have their own charm so I have selected them.

Half-timber row houses.  Built from foamcore and thin card.

Half-timber row houses. Built from foamcore and thin card.

Half-timber row houses.  Built from foamcore and thin card.

Half-timber row houses. Built from foamcore and thin card.

As proof my goals for this year are somewhat on track, I have some paint on the row houses.  They look outright terrible right now, but that is mostly due to the painting process.  In fact, that is why I have the close-up picture.

Obviously, the roofs are not done.  In fact, some don’t even have paint on them.  I put the roofs on last after the areas they would otherwise make difficult to reach were painted.  The painting itself is at what I call the ugly stage.  That point where everything seems to fall apart but really it is just a few minor touches until it is finished.  I built the stucco “daub and waddle” parts in three stages:

  1. Painted with a thick cinnamon brown colour.  The thick paint provides some irregularity that helps paint stick while also giving the look and feel of a stucco.  The brush strokes were visible to give an idea of thickness.
  2. A heavy stippling of a khaki was applied.  Again, using thick paint gave more texture.
  3. A light stippling of white.  This paint was a bit thinner but still thick enough to leave a bit of texture.  Word to the spend-thrift, this was all done with cheap $1 craft paint.  It is all very thick to begin with and almost an exponentially small cost compared to hobby paint.

The timber will be repainted and then dry-brushed.  The horrible looking bricks will pop after a quick wash.  All in all, the longest part left is actually the shingles.  I am thinking of trying to paint them in strips off the houses to make painting and construction easier.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.  Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon. Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures.

Next we have the “web room” under construction.  This has been painted during construction as I was hedging my bets.  Before I put the arches in place I was worried they would be stuck in place and make painting impossible.  So I threw paint on the spots that would be tough to reach once assembled.  After the paint dried I realized my archway could slide under the floor pieces, so it is still detachable.  Once painted, I will glue the arches in place.  This is the web room for a very simple reason: there will be all sorts of spider webs.  It will be home to my giant spider demon (who is getting a lot of duration and attention to mimic a real-world spider pattern).

Books.  Ok, not yet.

Books. Ok, not yet.

Finally the library has some progress.  Behold, my books.  Sort of.

I will be using a trick I have seen numerous times.  Use wood, cut to size, wrap a card or paper cover and viola – books.

What you see here is not quite enough for one bookshelf.  I have 7 bookshelves.  Sigh, a long project for these books.  I am hoping the results will be worth it.  By comparison, I have been following another project making use of far more books.  http://forum.reapermini.com/index.php?/topic/57523-library-diorama/

Not a lot of work to show, but useful tips in there I hope.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

