Painting Works in Progress

I have had a bit of time so I grabbed my brush and remembered which end goes where.

I have done most of the work on a single miniature so far but I have a couple others who got a bit of attention.

Jolie Female Scribe by Reaper Miniatures

Jolie Female Scribe by Reaper Miniatures

Jolie Female Scribe by Reaper Miniatures

Jolie Female Scribe by Reaper Miniatures

Jolie Female Scribe by Reaper Miniatures

Jolie Female Scribe by Reaper Miniatures

The photos aren’t my best work, but the miniature isn’t finished yet either.  So maybe a bit out of focus will help to hide the faults right now.  I have done some make-up on her, and I am happy with how the eye-shadow turned out.  Her boots need to be finished, her hair needs an ink wash, and her belt will get toned down a few shades before I call the brush work done.  Maybe a bit of dust and or dirt too.  Ok, the pupil-less eyes are a bit freaky too.  I am also intending to do some work with green-stuff to give her a textured base to match the dungeon tiles.

Something I learned through trial and error vice examples was layering and wet-blending.  Now, I have stumbled across these things and realized I have my own methods to make them work.  There is a whole school of thought on wet-blending directly on the model and others who use a wet palette.  Personally, I prefer to blend on the model.  I also cheat whenever possible.

Jolie Female Scribe by Reaper Miniatures

Jolie Female Scribe by Reaper Miniatures

As the early WIP picture shows, I started with a darker shade of dress.  In fact it started darker than this.  What is visible here is the patchiness and smooth transitions.  This is achieved by my cheating wet-blend: I use multiple layers of thinned down paint over uncured paint layers.  Smooth brushing actually changes the pigments and if carefully done can allow transitions from deep (darker) areas to higher (brighter) areas.  Effectively, the paint blends with the previous layers by rehydrating the paint and allowing me to cheat and wet-blend over the course of a day instead of one marathon session.

I know the results aren’t quite as effective as true wet-blending, but for natural looking folds I think it works well.  For me to dedicate true wet-blending it needs to be something special like my Rackham Unicorn (buried away somewhere) or a special miniature with a lot of flesh since the only good way to get natural looking shadows on skin is real wet-blending.  It also seems to give a good effect with my Darkspawn cultists below.  But, to be fair I did more work with washes and glazes than wet-blending on these guys.

Darkspawn Cultist and Minion by Reaper Miniatures

Darkspawn Cultist and Minion by Reaper Miniatures

These too are in the WIP stage, I will make the tentacles fade to a lighter purple/blue at the tips and I intend to make the robes an unwashed linen colour…well under the mud and blood that is what it will be.  Obviously the various blades and hooks will get a rust wash and gore treatment.

Hopefully something inspired you today, if nothing else to try some silly mixing to get the right shade you want.

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Painting Works in Progress”

  1. daggerandbrush says :

    Good choice of colours and contrast. I think it suits the miniature perfectly.

Leave a Reply

