Penny for your thoughts

A few things have happened since my last update and have kept me away from my regularly scheduled hobby-time.

First, the wife went in for surgery.  She’s fine now, just recovering.  It has meant more time caring for her.

Second, I received my Bones II miniatures.  There are enough pictures of the boxes online so I skipped doing the box opening show many other backers have done.

Anyhow, the first mini painted from Bones II was the Mind Eater.  It started as a test of how well the colours would adhere to the bare “bonesium” without primer.  This is how the manufacturer recommends painting them, but old habits die hard.  Overall, the paint did adhere well and blend well.  When I started doing base colours on the next model I realized it wouldn’t work on those…too many folds and textures that I prefer having base coat to leave shadows.

Without further ado, here is the disgusting mind eater.

Reaper Miniatures Mind Eater

Reaper Miniatures Mind Eater

Reaper Miniatures Mind Eater

Reaper Miniatures Mind Eater

I went for a fairly realistic brain colouring and added a few veins and discoloured patches with blue and purple.  I wanted to strongly contrast the browns of the brain so went with green (as the colour wheel compliment – GASP colour theory) in a style similar to insects.  All in all, a quick and dirty paint but fairly effective.

And naturally the action shot:

Reaper Miniatures Mind Eater, Pathfinder Goblins, Darkspawn Cultist, Darkspawn Minion

Reaper Miniatures Mind Eater, Pathfinder Goblins, Darkspawn Cultist, Darkspawn Minion

Something tells me these goblins might be in for more than they can handle…

Hopefully something inspired you today, if nothing else to try strange combos on the strange minis in your collection.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

