DYCO WIP

For those not familiar with the above acronym, it is one I find I use very seldom, outside of a joke here or there.  DYCO – Dashing Young Cavalry Officer.  For those who know me personally, you will know I am neither young nor dashing.

This fellow on the other hand is all of the above.

I had originally intended to paint his armour the requisite steel colour, the look at me I’m a tin can look.  In the back of my mind though, I remember one of the first full plate minis I ever painted (a long gone Ral Partha evil paladin of some sort).  When I painted him I wasn’t sure how to paint metal to look different.  His sword was going to be metallic but I figured he wouldn’t look evil if I painted him metallic (plus he would look like he did unpainted).  So I painted him black with white edging on his armour.

Renaissance Armour

Renaissance Armour

Fast forward to a few weeks ago and Dagger and Brush (great blog at this link if you want to be wowed by some amazing work: http://daggerandbrush.wordpress.com/) commented on the dark armour.  In the back of my mind I figured I would have to send the note clarifying it was just lower on the WIP line, then I started visualizing what he saw: a dark armour model with the striking heraldry.  Sold.  So rather than fool around with trying Non-Metal-Metal (NMM) for the second time* I opted for basic shadow and highlight play and I will mark some areas where the paint has chipped to show the steel beneath.  As an example of real world armour painted black I present this example, but there are many others most of which are less embellished.

Anyhow, enough of my rambling, the brushes and paint had a chance to fly last night so Alain, Iconic Cavalier has some progress.  First, stage one – the armour.

Alain Cavalier by Reaper Miniatures

Alain Cavalier by Reaper Miniatures

Alain Cavalier by Reaper Miniatures

Alain Cavalier by Reaper Miniatures

Alain Cavalier by Reaper Miniatures

Alain Cavalier by Reaper Miniatures

As the highlighting has gone a bit bright, I may go back and tone it down a bit.  It is tough to tell as there is still a lot of black on the model that will be brighter colours – like the inside of the shield, the broad sword, the lance, and the various leather straps, pouches, and demi-sheath for his sword.

With a bit more colour:

Alain Cavalier by Reaper Miniatures

Alain Cavalier by Reaper Miniatures

Alain Cavalier by Reaper Miniatures

Alain Cavalier by Reaper Miniatures

The white really makes the shield pop and it toned down the armour a bit.  Overall I think this is some good progress on this model.

Looking through my painted minis I did notice there was one mini who escaped getting photographed.

Darkspawn Cultist and Cthon by Reaper Miniatures.

Darkspawn Cultist and Chthon by Reaper Miniatures.

Chthon by Reaper Miniatures

Chthon by Reaper Miniatures

This Bones guy lived up to the rule I set for myself about the fiddly nature of trimming these guys: the gribblies/minions get superficial cleaning of the obvious stuff and that is it.  So yes, there is an obvious mold-line down the body when zoomed in, but on the table it isn’t noticeable.  I have found an easier way to trim the mold lines on Bones, so it is a bit easier than I thought, just a different technique.  In the end I will be rushing through most of the monsters so I won’t give them as much attention.  In contrast, I am a bit miffed by a mold like on Alain I can’t reach with a knife and files don’t work as well.

Anyhow, hopefully something was inspirational for you today, if nothing else to check out your local museum.  The picture above is not mine nor from my local museum.

* My first attempt at NMM was a sword, a rather large sword so I thought it would be easier to do.  It turned out so terrible after the first few layers I quickly painted over it before anyone else could see it.  So I really don’t think I have done it yet.  My first exposure to NMM was on the Rackham forum years ago where things like mirrored polished armour plates with distorted reflections were the norm…something far beyond my meager painting skills.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

