I’ll get right to the Point

OK, I know I have had some pretty lame titles, but that one takes the cake.

I have a bit of vacation time at work so I have managed to sneak in a week off before FY end and work getting busy.  That means more updates for you dear reader…and then me falling off the face of the earth for the next few months.

Anyhow, up first we have one of the Spikeshell Warrior minis from Bones.  I figured these would make a nice contrast to hordes of squishy monsters – something that can stand up to the melee folks and instead will almost require magical intervention to fell.

Spikeshell Warrior by Reaper Miniatures

Spikeshell Warrior by Reaper Miniatures

Spikeshell Warrior by Reaper Miniatures

Spikeshell Warrior by Reaper Miniatures

Spikeshell Warrior by Reaper Miniatures

Spikeshell Warrior by Reaper Miniatures

Spikeshell Warrior by Reaper Miniatures

Spikeshell Warrior by Reaper Miniatures

I went with a fairly simple scheme with this guy and will try a darker shell coloration for his paired brother.  This is a very light version of an alligator snapping turtle, although they go more to yellow than white on the skin.

A fun miniature to paint all told.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

I have managed to get some more work done on my dungeon.  I had a surplus of floor tiles but shortage of walls so I had done a few base layers weeks ago.  I wanted to try out some buttresses on this piece, I think it looks pretty cool.  It also has a wooden floor in the main corridor section, just to break things up a bit.  This particular section was an attempt at painting the floor first then attaching the walls.  I will see how it works compared to the next piece.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.  Pathfinder Goblin by Reaper Miniatures

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon. Pathfinder Goblin by Reaper Miniatures

Reaper Miniatures Spikeshell Warrior, Harley Brimstone, Anirion, Faceless Horror, and Darkspawn Cultist.

Reaper Miniatures Spikeshell Warrior, Harley Brimstone, Anirion, Faceless Horror, and Darkspawn Cultist.

On the idea of breaking things up, I added a low rail wall to this section with a chest hidden behind it.  As shown by the goblin, it won’t provide much cover for any but the shortest of minis.  As an interesting trial, I used wooden sections in the wall here too.  A bit narrower than the bricks, it does highlight that it is wood a bit more.

Short and sweet today, but of course I leave you with the obligatory action shot.  Hopefully something inspired you today, if nothing  else to try piecing together old pieces in new ways.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “I’ll get right to the Point”

  1. mistervee2 says :

    That is the coolest fantasy turtle model.

  2. marinealrose says :

    How do you like the Hirst dungeon blocks? We use a chessex mat, and have for years, but I keep seeing these blocks.. They pique my interest.

    • hosercanadian says :

      They are a lot of fun. Depending on what you want to use them for there are lots of different ways to build. I opted for solid tiles while others went for modular wall/floor sections.

Leave a Reply

