Have wheels, will travel

A common object in nearly every modern city is the automobile, and yet I seem to be lacking them completely in my terrain and miniature collections.  So with one fell swoop I can make cars that function as terrain and vehicles. Inspired by the Chicago Skirmish Wargames Club (http://chicagoskirmish.blogspot.com/) and their use of scale cars I bought two of these Dodge Chargers for about $10.

Motor Max 1/43 scale Dodge Charger

Motor Max 1/43 scale Dodge Charger

As this picture shows they were over the top police interceptors.  But a bit of acetone and presto, bare metal.  I disassembled it first to save the plastic bits.  These are 1/43 scale and I think are a bit too big.  Beside figures they look fairly close.  I will be looking at 1/46 or 1/53 going forward but these worked out well.

Motor Max 1/43 scale Dodge Charger

Motor Max 1/43 scale Dodge Charger

Motor Max 1/43 scale Dodge Charger.  Deano by Hassle Free Miniatures.

Motor Max 1/43 scale Dodge Charger. Deano by Hassle Free Miniatures.

As shown by the two minis it scales approximately the right size.  I intend to use these as the vehicles for my modern/sci fi assault team (at least until I get some SUVs). Even beside the Quonsit hut they look fairly good.

Motor Max 1/43 scale Dodge Charger.  Deano by Hassle Free Miniatures.

Motor Max 1/43 scale Dodge Charger. Deano by Hassle Free Miniatures.

I might be a bit biased but I think even a bit of paint makes them pop even more.  I realized after painting this that I will need to use a varnish of these just to stop the paint from rubbing off.  Overall a good effect for minimal effort.  All together I spent an hour on this car and the second one is waiting for paint too.

Motor Max 1/43 scale Dodge Charger

Motor Max 1/43 scale Dodge Charger

Motor Max 1/43 scale Dodge Charger

Motor Max 1/43 scale Dodge Charger

A short one, but hopefully it inspires you to shop for some bargains to repurpose them.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Have wheels, will travel”

  1. Terry says :

    I have a hard enough time snagging 1/43 scale vehicles, most seem to be 1:32 which are way too large. Obviously 1/56 is best, but good luck finding them. I will need to strip all my bright shiny vehicles down as well to make them ‘period’ pieces for Zombie/Pulp games.

    • hosercanadian says :

      Try Walmart, these came from there. I was surprised how quickly I could disassemble/strip/repaint so I think it might be worthwhile. I’ll send you an e-mail about some other sources.

  2. nightowl says :

    I like the weathering. Great job on the dirty windshield and wiper trails. Really, in that 3rd and 4th pic it looks like they scale up just fine. Nice job!

    • hosercanadian says :

      The immediate side by side to a fig it shows they are too big. Any other space apart and it looks great. Now I just need to level up my terrain skills so the terrain matches.

Leave a Reply

