Mix and Match

Today I am throwing together a bit of an update for models that previously didn’t warrant their own update.  The reason for this is two-fold:

 

1.  I wanted to show them off eventually, and right now there is enough to fill an update.

2.  I decided to slice my finger in half (only a minor exaggeration) so I can’t really hold models well to paint them right now.  This leaves me with a weekend off and few hobby-type things to do.

Anyhow, without further ado, I bring you the rogues gallery of recently finished models.

Reaper Animal Companion.

Reaper Animal Companion.

Reaper Animal Companion.  Hayden by Hassle Free Miniatures.

Reaper Animal Companion. Hayden by Hassle Free Miniatures.

First up we have one of the five animal companions from Bones II.  This is some sort of hunting cat but I didn’t want to wed it to a particular type so I went for a cougar/lion type pelt and added in some weird spots.  In RPG or Dungeon Down it can now proxy as a cat of some sort.  As shown beside Hayden it is really a fairly large miniature.  If on a base (tough since it is about 1.25″ long) it would be up to Hayden’s shoulder.  Although quick and easy, I like the effect on the cat.

Mudcroak by Reaper Miniatures

Mudcroak by Reaper Miniatures

Mudcroak by Reaper Miniatures

Mudcroak by Reaper Miniatures

Next on the block is Mudcroak, a squog shaman.  Now I am not sure what exactly a squog is.  Giant frog with teeth.  A cute little guy, I tried to emulate the basic frogs I remember seeing in ponds.  The belly looked well blended…until I saw it in sun-light and my blending looks like a series of lines.  Oh well.  The skull is a bit washed out again, by sunlight.  Another quick a easy paint, I intend to use this guy as a healer monster with high cunning.  So other than stabbing with his spear, he will also heal the wounded.  An interesting effect I am sure.

Spikeshell Warrior by Reaper Miniatures

Spikeshell Warrior by Reaper Miniatures

Spikeshell Warrior by Reaper Miniatures

Spikeshell Warrior by Reaper Miniatures

Another quick paint, here is the second of the spikeshell warriors.  I have already used this guy in a game.  Having two of these guys makes it very tough for players who rely on blades to beat the bad guys.  I am not 100% happy with this guy as my final highlights came out too pale.  At least the two look different enough side by side.

Ghasts by Reaper Miniatures

Ghasts by Reaper Miniatures

Ghasts by Reaper Miniatures

Ghasts by Reaper Miniatures

Ghasts by Reaper Miniatures.  Hayden by Hassle Free Miniatures

Ghasts by Reaper Miniatures. Hayden by Hassle Free Miniatures

The ghasts were an attempt at a couple of different washes.  I did both with my usual flesh recipe but mixed to a very pale tone at the top.  I did a heavy wash with a rotting gore colour and finally finished with the flesh glaze I wanted.  I thought the purple would only tinge the skin but add interesting effects to the gore…instead it turned the skin a cartoony/video-game-esque purple.  Considering these will be big tough zombies the different colours will help to distinguish them.  I wanted to keep the cloth semi-neutral so they could be used in a modern zombie type game as well as the fantasy dungeon crawl.  A definite must is for me to grab some generic type zombies that could fit both niches to go with these guys.  As shown by Hayden these are massive beasts more suited to the Resident Evil giant zombies than just your regular walkers.

Bronze Heart Minotaur Hero by Reaper Miniatures.

Bronze Heart Minotaur Hero by Reaper Miniatures.

Bronze Heart Minotaur Hero by Reaper Miniatures.

Bronze Heart Minotaur Hero by Reaper Miniatures.

Bronze Heart Minotaur Hero by Reaper Miniatures.  Hayden by Hassle Free Miniatures.

Bronze Heart Minotaur Hero by Reaper Miniatures. Hayden by Hassle Free Miniatures.

Obviously I had a bit of fun with the minotaur.  I have seen countless minotaurs in varying shades of brown and black but I have not seen them as Jersy cows.  So with a bit of brush work I made him look more cow-like.  As he has obvious metal armour and a bit more of a posturing/threatening stance than my other minotaur I kept his armour clean and well cared for.  Maybe he is the minotaur prince.  Maybe he just hates dirt.  Either way, I think this is one of my favorite larger minis.  As shown by both Hayden and the walls, he towers over other figures, a veritable beast in the maze.

 

Alahazra by Reaper Miniatures

Alahazra by Reaper Miniatures

Alahazra by Reaper Miniatures

Alahazra by Reaper Miniatures

To wrap this post up I have a WIP to show, Alahazra Iconic Oracle.  I know there are people who have complained about this particular figure in Bones but I think it is well done.  The nose is quite small and not clear until painted.  The out-stretched hand has mold lines obscuring the fingers, and finally the mold lines are in awkward spots.  However, this is a very cool figure.  The mold lines took some work to clean up, but then again I barely cleaned the other minis shown today – they are cannon-fodder and were treated as such.  I am going to turn the hand mold-lines into a project: I will try Object Light Source again and have her entire hand glowing so the mold lines will look more like magical energy light than webbed-fingers.  I am particularly happy with the flesh tones and purple robes and I am pretty sure the jewelry and ties will make the clothing pop even more.

Of course a big swarm of monsters should be expected:

Reaper Bones monsters...cue the rampaging hordes and ominous music.

Reaper Bones monsters…cue the rampaging hordes and ominous music.

Hopefully something inspired you today, if nothing else to hammer through that long term project with some creativity and bursts of manic activity.  On a related note: if you are teaching somebody something, like say building terrain, pay attention to what you are saying.  So for example, if you say “this blade is getting dull and may slip and cut you” you might want to stop cutting with it.  Until next time.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Mix and Match”

  1. marinealrose says :

    whew! That is a lot of minis to finish up! Great job! I loved painting my squogs, they were fun!
    I like that the minotaur is the only one that can see over the wall. 🙂

Leave a Reply

