Creepy Crawlies

So I have found a bit of brush time while using my middle finger to pinch or hold my minis flat on the table.

As a result of my unorthodox painting while my finger heals I would say fast and sloppy will be the words of the day instead of precise and smooth.

What got the first bit of brushwork were my vermin spiders from Bones 2.  While technically a Bones 1 fig, they included 4 in Bones 2.

Spider Swarm and Vermin Spider by Reaper Miniatures.

Spider Swarm and Vermin Spider by Reaper Miniatures.

Vermin Spider by Reaper Miniatures.

Vermin Spider by Reaper Miniatures.

Vermin Spider by Reaper Miniatures.

Vermin Spider by Reaper Miniatures.

Vermin Spider by Reaper Miniatures.

Vermin Spider by Reaper Miniatures.

Vermin Spider by Reaper Miniatures.

Vermin Spider by Reaper Miniatures.

I went with subdued natural colours with the spiders and made use of layers to achieve the thinner lines on the outside of the patterns.

The Black one is actually a jumping spider we have around here that I never saw until I moved here.  They do also have a few vertical stripes but not something I felt like trying with my finger right now.

The light brown ones I matched to the wolf spiders we have around here.  I think they must be very tasty as my dog loves to eat them.

The dark brown one actually has a Brown Recluse Fiddle shape on his abdomen, but that was before I decided to glue them to the bases.  As they are all on unpainted bases right now, I will likely have to pop them off to paint/texture the bases. Oh well, one of my impulsive choices working against me again.

I also managed to get the Vermin Beetles from Bones painted.  Again, Bones 1 but I got them in my Bones 2.  Not a lot to say or many pictures to show.  Between the lighting and my poor camera skills this is the only picture that turned out for them.

Beetle Swarm and Vermin Beetles by Reaper Miniatures.

Beetle Swarm and Vermin Beetles by Reaper Miniatures.

Short update today, but hopefully inspiring in it’s own way.  If nothing else, I hope it prompts you to figure out ways to function when sick and hurt.  The healing powers of relaxing hobbies cannot be over-stated.  Now as I am not a medical professional, I may in fact be over-stating them.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Creepy Crawlies”

  1. marinealrose says :

    I love that you have spiderweb in your dungeon crawl! Your pictures have so much personality the way you shoot them! I love it!

  2. daggerandbrush says :

    Very evocative pictures and the crawlers look the part. I have to get around paintign some fo mine. You can’t have a Dungeon without vermin.

Leave a Reply

