Study in Light and Dark

I managed to pick up the brush again today and got a few minis finished.  After all was said and done they are the studies in contrast of light and dark.  This is surprising as it wasn’t something I set out to do.  Both minis were by Reaper.

First, we have a Pathfinder Iconic Inquisitor.  Brother Roberto has been called somber and a dark model by some folks online, and now Imrijka makes him look outright cheerful.

Imrijka by Reaper Miniatures

Imrijka by Reaper Miniatures

Imrijka by Reaper Miniatures

Imrijka by Reaper Miniatures

She has been photographed in a different fashion than usual as I needed to wash her out for any of the colours to show up.  As the action pics below show, in normal lighting she is a vague mass of shadow.

I wanted a dark brown robe reminiscent of monks and of course the hat had to be black, but faded out.  The play of shadows on her half-orc face works well I think.  The overall use of greys, browns and faded metal means that beyond arms-reach she is very indistinct…very appropriate for the shadowy hunter of dark and ruinous powers.

Basilisk by Reaper Miniatures.

Basilisk by Reaper Miniatures.

Basilisk by Reaper Miniatures.

Basilisk by Reaper Miniatures.

Basilisk by Reaper Miniatures.

Basilisk by Reaper Miniatures.

In stark contrast, the basilisk I painted is bright and distinct.  I wanted to replicate the yellow-brown of rattlesnakes and built up from a dark brown to the yellow-brown.  I went over with a chestnut brown to add a pattern to the back scales and head fringe.  I haven’t been asked about colours I use before, but to save the question, I use DecoArt Crafter’s Acrylics and mix my colours.  For example, I used Burnt Umber with Black as the base coat with the final yellow being a mix of Cinnamon Brown, Burnt Umber and Bright Yellow.  I mix colours by sight so the end result is my colours tend to vary from model to model – which is far more realistic I think.  It does make life difficult when I need to touch-up if that colour has dried on my palette.

Imrijka, Ghast, Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures.  Skeletons by Games Workshop.

Imrijka, Ghast, Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures. Skeletons by Games Workshop.

Imrijka, Ghast, Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures.  Skeletons by Games Workshop.

Imrijka, Ghast, Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures. Skeletons by Games Workshop.

Imrijka, Ghast, Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures.  Skeletons by Games Workshop.

Imrijka, Ghast, Barrow Warden Mystic by Reaper Miniatures. Skeletons by Games Workshop.

The action shot puts Imrijka in a familiar situation: while hunting rumours of a vile sorcerer she finds herself beset on all sides by accursed undead.  Only her faith can save her from the same accursed fate.

Will she realize there is a secret door behind her before it is too late?

Will her powerful bow shots keep the brutish undead at bay?

Will she actually have a splash of colour on her?

Tune in next week for the continuing adventures in miniature.  Hopefully something inspired you today, maybe to go out and intentionally try the contrasting play in colours I did accidentally.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

