The dragon with a girl tattoo

Last night was a quiet one at home so I managed to get a couple more minis painted.  As the title suggests, one was a dragon.  Not the large and glorious one, instead one of the hatchling dragons as a test of the scheme I want to use on Cinder.

Hatchling "Red" Dragon by Reaper Miniatures

Hatchling “Red” Dragon by Reaper Miniatures

Hatchling "Red" Dragon by Reaper Miniatures

Hatchling “Red” Dragon by Reaper Miniatures

Hatchling "Red" Dragon by Reaper Miniatures

Hatchling “Red” Dragon by Reaper Miniatures

Hatchling "Red" Dragon by Reaper Miniatures

Hatchling “Red” Dragon by Reaper Miniatures

Ok, so reading labels hasn’t been my strong suit – technically this is supposed to be a red dragon.  As the pictures show, I didn’t even try getting the mold lines off of this little guy so there are some pretty obvious ones.

I wanted to see how subtle I could get the shift from black to purple.  I am trying for a stark contrast but I wanted to try a technique.  As I have 3 more hatchlings, you will likely see some different techniques done.

So why black and purple?

Basically Cinder has some very striking horns.  As the picture below shows.

Cinder by Reaper Miniatures.  Picture used without permission.

Cinder by Reaper Miniatures. Picture used without permission.

Those horns seem a bit familiar…almost like Maleficent.  No, not Angelina Jolie.  Haven’t see the movie, not interested.  Instead I mean the classic Disney witch/faerie and her dragon form.

Maleficent from Disney's Sleeping Beauty.  Image used without permission.

Maleficent from Disney’s Sleeping Beauty. Image used without permission.

Maleficent from Disney's Sleeping Beauty.  Image used without permission.

Maleficent from Disney’s Sleeping Beauty. Image used without permission.

Now the colour scheme should hopefully make sense.

I do want the belly to read purple but not in the stark cartoon style.  A subtle transition is my goal.  As for the wings, I figure if the pale belly in purple it makes sense the wings should be too.

Any input on colour scheme would be appreciated.

Also finished was one of the Boss monsters for Dungeon Down.  Although he has been tried already, it was in his shameful unpainted state.  Now, he looks a bit more threatening.

Horned Hunter by Reaper Miniatures

Horned Hunter by Reaper Miniatures

Horned Hunter by Reaper Miniatures

Horned Hunter by Reaper Miniatures

I saw him as a nod to the Wild Hunt’s Huntsman figure.  For those unfamiliar with this myth, here is a good over-view: Wild Hunt.  One thing not discussed in the article is that the Wild Hunt could recruit those it didn’t pursue.  So seeing the Huntsman and hearing his horn would cause you to run: either with the hunt or from it.

To replicate that in the game, I gave him a charming spell and a really good bow.  As I mentioned in an earlier post, he scared the players just by looking at his stats.

Of course another action shot is due, so I figured why not show two shots.

Alain, Jolie, and Imrijka face down the fae Huntsman and his "hunting hounds".

Alain, Jolie, and Imrijka face down the fae Huntsman and his “hunting hounds”.

Alain, Jolie, and Imrijka face down the fae Huntsman and his "hunting hounds".

Alain, Jolie, and Imrijka face down the fae Huntsman and his “hunting hounds”.

Hopefully something inspired you today.  If nothing else to try pulling inspiration from your childhood to add an unexpected spark to your hobby.  I am hoping the finished dragon reads enough like Maleficent that anyone who has seen it makes the comparison.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The dragon with a girl tattoo”

  1. marinealrose says :

    I think Cinder would work well as Maleficent.
    Also, just my two cents, I think that the new Maleficent movie was fantastic. If you like the ‘other side of the story’ kind of stories, you’ll like it. I had already decided I wasn’t interested in it, and loved it. Just fyi.
    I think using the hatchlings as a test is a wonderful idea. Keep blending and blending and it will translate well to Cinder! 🙂 Can’t wait to see her!

Leave a Reply

