Retro Vengeance

Or at least Avengers anyways.

I painted these models quickly yesterday for a game of Warhammer 40K I was supposed to play today, but sick kids ended-up having me cancel the game.  Oh well, at least they still look good.

Games Workshop Dire Avenger Exarch circa 1994

Games Workshop Dire Avenger Exarch circa 1994

Games Workshop Dire Avenger Exarch circa 1994

Games Workshop Dire Avenger Exarch circa 1994

Games Workshop Dire Avenger Exarch circa 1994

Games Workshop Dire Avenger Exarch circa 1994

This marks the third time these guys have been painted.  I stripped them twice  before and they sat unpainted in my box of Eldar for quite a number of years.  I still need to finish the bases.  Both flocking and painting the edges.

I had trimmed most of these years ago but I forgot I bought a few additional Avengers in a separate purchase and apparently I didn’t trim the flash or mold lines at all on those.  Oh well, it isn’t noticeable from a distance.  I might go back and clean the offending models up.

Games Workshop Dire Avengers circa 1994.

Games Workshop Dire Avengers circa 1994.

Games Workshop Dire Avengers circa 1994.

Games Workshop Dire Avengers circa 1994.

Games Workshop Dire Avengers circa 1994.

Games Workshop Dire Avengers circa 1994.

The fluff behind the Eldar always struck me as fascinating.  They are a mentally (and psychically) advanced race that has chosen to focus on dedication to different aspects/professions.  The Dire Avengers are one such profession, although not all professions are military.

In the background the uninhibited lifestyle they had lived, before the current period, created an entity composed of passion and vice that fed on the souls of dying Eldar.  The only survivors of this cataclysm were the Puritan-like exiles who fled the unwholesome society before this destructive birth of the demon Slaanesh.

That said, they seemed very dour and no nonsense.  The published colour schemes for the Eldar always struck me as oddly contrasting to that background: they are very brightly coloured.  These Aspect Warriors are supposed to be blue so I decided to go with a black base and gradually build up to blue but still keeping them dark and somber.  I feel that my colour scheme was a success.

To get an idea of the garish colours used, check out the internet and see.  I hesitate to show pictures as my Persians have already assaulted the eyes of my regular readers enough.

Games Workshop Dire Avengers circa 1994.  Necromunda Escher Ganger and Hired Scum.

Games Workshop Dire Avengers circa 1994. Necromunda Escher Ganger and Hired Scum.

The action shot shows a couple of gangers desperately trying to hold the line against advancing Dire Avengers.  Things look grim for these two.

Hopefully something inspired you today, if nothing else to try dusting off those old minis and give a new paint scheme a shot.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

