From the ashes…

Ok, maybe a bit melodramatic, but I did have a few figs consigned to being stripped redeem themselves with a bit of work.

Elia Shadowfeet by Reaper Miniatures.

Elia Shadowfeet by Reaper Miniatures.

Elia Shadowfeet by Reaper Miniatures.

Elia Shadowfeet by Reaper Miniatures.

Before we get into that, I did manage to get some nicer pictures of Elia so now her smooth skin and subtle shadows are at least visible.

Not an amazing paint job, but at least now my brushwork is more clear.

Ironically, in the game of Dungeon Down last night, the party was wishing for a Cunning Hero (read: Thief) and I showed them this girl who would have been a very valuable addition.  More on that below.

Skeleton by Reaper Miniatures.

Skeleton by Reaper Miniatures.

My wife was wanting to learn to paint too, mostly because our daughters are doing it.  So I sat down with her one afternoon and had her first brush on primer her first chosen model…and then I handed her one to learn dry-brushing on (a naked skeleton) and then told her to paint this guy above.  She did very nice blending and subtle highlights with minimal instruction.  Most of the white is actually plaster dust (doing Hirst Arts again has put that all over my workspace).

Skeletons by Reaper Miniatures.

Skeletons by Reaper Miniatures.

Skeletons by Reaper Miniatures.

Skeletons by Reaper Miniatures.

Skeletons by Reaper Miniatures.

Skeletons by Reaper Miniatures.

Skeletons by Reaper Miniatures.

Skeletons by Reaper Miniatures.

Skeletons by Reaper Miniatures.

Skeletons by Reaper Miniatures.

While she was painting her skeleton, I figured I would hammer out these skeletons too.  I also had a few side projects where I would show her what a wash did, or multi-colour/layered drybrushing.  I also did wet blending to show her that, but told her to try it after she felt more comfortable with putting on highlights by hand instead of trying to blend up to them.

Aaron the Conjurer by Reaper Miniatures.

Aaron the Conjurer by Reaper Miniatures.

Aaron the Conjurer by Reaper Miniatures.

Aaron the Conjurer by Reaper Miniatures.

Aaron the Conjurer by Reaper Miniatures.

Aaron the Conjurer by Reaper Miniatures.

Aaron is the Phoenix of the post today.  I had originally wanted to paint a mage with orange robes so put on the first few layers and it came out all chalky.  So I was frustrated with him.  In the end I decided I would test techniques on him before I stripped him or put him in the bottom of a drawer.

With that in mind, I tried wet-blending an Asian flesh.  Which came out fairly well.  From there I tried putting in the hair and saw the Fu Man Chu could be pulled off.  Once that was done, I wondered if a wash and wet blend up to highlights could fix the robes.  In some places it worked better than others obviously, the back turned out the best I think but the front leg looks suitably worn and faded too.

Finally I just started playing around with wet-blending the spell effect from dark blue to white.  I simply blocked out the other colours and threw him aside, still confident I would strip him.  At the game of Dungeon Down though the couple who regularly plays were amazed with him.  So now I guess I need to go back and touch up the details and smooth out the rough spots.  Or not.  For tabletop I think he looks quite good.

Woody, Halfling Ranger by Reaper Miniatures.

Woody, Halfling Ranger by Reaper Miniatures.

Another mini who may (or may not) have pulled himself from the proverbial doghouse is the Halfling here.  While painting him, I though it would be cool to make him match Elia like brother and sister.  Instead of opting for a Rnager-themed paint scheme I felt like going more for Perregrin of Minas Tirith.  I was liking the basic colour blocking…but the skin just kept coming out patching and coarse.  I did go back with a flesh wash that repaired some of the sins…but I am still not happy with him as a whole.  And he certainly doesn’t look like a match for Elia, even as her ugly brother.

A few touch-ups are still needed too, but the question is if I can fix his skin.  I tried using some blonde paint to give him a beard to cover up the sins, but it is just too tough to notice on such a small mini.  Any suggestions would be appreciated…otherwise he will sit in shame or get stripped.

Anti Paladin by Reaper Miniatures.

Anti Paladin by Reaper Miniatures.

Anti Paladin by Reaper Miniatures.

Anti Paladin by Reaper Miniatures.

Cassiatta by Reaper Miniatures.

Cassiatta by Reaper Miniatures.

Also playing Phoenix were these two sinister figures.

The Anti Paladin was given a quick dry brush but I spent a lot of time blending his cape and the shield was separate and I was blending, highlighting and drybrushing it to this state while watching Netflix waaay past my bedtime.

Cassiata was simply a rough and dirty series of wet-blend drybrushes to get a purple girl.  Mostly because I knew both my oldest daughter and wife would find a girl in purple cute.

The Anti Paladin shield is his focal point and the eyes are drawn to it (overlooking the poorly done eyes).  The pair though fulfilled a devious role in Dungeon Down.  As a new breed of tough monsters in an attempt to increase the difficulty of some fights.  These two combine cleric-hunting with defending weaker monsters.  Paired with the very efficient melee and thick armour kept the game on track.

Let me explain that last part.  Due to my being busy and the work schedules of the couple, the regular Dungeon Down games had been side-tracked and we haven’t even had time to grab a coffee with this couple in almost 3 months.  So the two women were gossiping away and talking girl stuff after we were a few minutes into the game with the two men looking bored.  So we just pushed on and when these two appeared both the women were suddenly interested in the game as they saw Alain backing off from a fight.

The nastiest critter of the game was a demon (the first one in fact) who had Ambush.  As mentioned in previous posts, Ambush lets a monster deploy in a non-standard way.  Some monsters can even reuse Ambush.  The demon’s Ambush let him deploy beside a wounded miniature.  It could then reuse Ambush by using Stealth (an ability that uses Cunning against the Cunning of others).  Since the demon has very Cunning, it had free reign to pop into existence, finish off a wounded hero and then disappear again.  Since it could do the Ambush even if it was a wounded monster, it kept popping in and out until finally Brother Roberto was felled in combat.  A healing potion could bring him back, but left him wounded…and the demon came in.

Alain valiantly stepped in front of Brother Roberto (using one of his skills) and shrugged off the demon’s attack.  When it stepped into the shadows to disappear, Alain rolled higher on his cunning and ran the demon through with a single sword thrust.

As this monster was despised by the party and deemed nasty, everybody agreed he needs to stay.  If nothing else he encourages the use of a Cunning hero.  An unpainted mini right now, he has earned a paint job.

The game was great fun and ended up ending on time since we kept visiting and getting side-tracked as good friends enjoying themselves are wont to do.  To give the action shot, here is the final shot of the dungeon where we ended it.  This is a great shot as nobody was repositioned, so I took about 20 shots until I got one I was happy with.  If I had zoomed in a bit more it would have been that much better.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.  Hayden Hasslefree Miniatures.  Alain Iconic Cavalier, Brother Roberto and Jolie Female Scribe by Reaper Miniatures.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon. Hayden Hasslefree Miniatures. Alain Iconic Cavalier, Brother Roberto and Jolie Female Scribe by Reaper Miniatures.

Hopefully something inspired you today, if nothing else to try experimenting on the minis that are already consigned to stripping…it’s not as if you have anything to lose.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

