Playing the Album Backwards

Nothing like the history of urban myths to start things off.  If you aren’t aware, the story goes that (insert band name) wrote Satanic verses into their songs but they can only be heard if you play the album backwards.  As a perfect example, have a listen to this: Warning: Likely to Cause Brain Damage. Anyhow, I have managed to do some painting, mostly of demons.

Babau by Reaper Miniatures.

Babau by Reaper Miniatures.

Babau by Reaper Miniatures.

Babau by Reaper Miniatures.

First up, we have the Reaper Bones Babau.  This is the demon who was able to play cat and mouse with the party during the last game of Dungeon Down. I went with a fairly muted colour scheme as I wanted it to evoke stealth.  In DnD, this particular demon drips with venom.  The description makes it red, but I wanted to go with green instead and show it dripping down the rock instead of coating the mini.

Nabassu by Reaper Miniatures.

Nabassu by Reaper Miniatures.

Nabassu by Reaper Miniatures.

Nabassu by Reaper Miniatures.

Also painted on the demon front is the Nabassu.  Now this is a demon I am not familiar with, so I looked it up online.

Demon from Fantasia.  Image used without permission.

Demon from Fantasia. Image used without permission.

Apparently this is a demon who starts in the mortal realm and then shifts to demon realms afterwards.  I wasn’t sure what to do with such a vague description so I just went with the stereotypes of a demon from Heavy Metal album cover to Christian movies.  Oh Disney did it too. In game terms I just went with a big tough guy who can stare down individuals to strike fear in their hearts.

Erick Initiate Paladin by Reaper Miniatures.

Erick Initiate Paladin by Reaper Miniatures.

Erick Initiate Paladin by Reaper Miniatures.

Erick Initiate Paladin by Reaper Miniatures.

Erick Initiate Paladin, Brother Roberto, and Imrijka by Reaper Miniatures.

Erick Initiate Paladin, Brother Roberto, and Imrijka by Reaper Miniatures.

I did manage to throw some paint on a couple new adventurers.  Truth is, I am not very happy with the results.  I am not sure if it is a bit of painters fatigue, the bad primer (it left the figs pebbled) or just a bad selection of scheme. Anyhow, I went with a rather simple paint scheme.  I wanted to go with a Templar style but I realized I had a knight with a white tabard already,  In fact, I have another guy in a red tabard so it isn’t really the most unique choice either. On the other hand, he seems a bit out of scale with the other characters I have thus far.  As demonstrated when he his beside my other divine inspired heroes.

Nabassu, Babau, Brother Roberto, and Imrijka by Reaper Miniatures.

Nabassu, Babau, Brother Roberto, and Imrijka by Reaper Miniatures.

Nabassu, Babau, Brother Roberto, and Imrijka by Reaper Miniatures.

Nabassu, Babau, Brother Roberto, and Imrijka by Reaper Miniatures.

Of course the action shots will showcase these demons, but it also shows off my latest modular dungeon terrain. This unholy temple will serve as the boss room for the Vrock demon but also adds a bit of interesting flavor and confused line of sight with the pews. I may go for a more elaborate temple set-up at some point too, but I am happy with the simple room but interesting effect.

Hopefully something inspired you today, if nothing else to try playing some songs in reverse.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

