Kiss of Death

With the kids back at home I have found less hobby time.  What time I have found has been spent mostly on one miniature.

Vanja Fire Giant Queen by Reaper Miniatures.

Vanja Fire Giant Queen by Reaper Miniatures.

Vanja Fire Giant Queen by Reaper Miniatures.

Vanja Fire Giant Queen by Reaper Miniatures.

Explain to me again how this is a kiss of death...

Explain to me again how this is a kiss of death…

I have done Vanja in stages, and with the photos I see a few places I missed blending her skin on her face.  On the other hand, from most angles it tends to provide a bit of delineation to the face.  It is just how sharp that line is that will need to be defined.

I have decided to go with a bluish grey skin for two reasons.  First, I wanted a “frost giant” type feel.  Second, I haven’t actually done blue skin before so I thought it would be a good challenge for me.  As with many of my figs, if they do ever see RPG use, it will be irrelevant what her skin colour is.  If she is a Fire Giant one week and a Cloud Giant the next, nobody will really complain.

I will be doing weathering on the armour and much more work on the spear-head.  I am not sure about the cloak.  I did a dark green wash so far, I think I may want to try a dark brown.  I have also been told that purple actually provides fairly realistic shadows.  The pictures it looks different than in hand.  And I have noticed that all the colours read differently in varied light.  I think that is a positive: it means my shading and colour gradient is natural.  At least that is what I think it means.  Anyways, feedback on the cloak would be appreciated on what, if anything it needs.

Either way, I figure posting a WIP of a miniature is a sure-fire way to stop painting it.  Just one look at my track record confirms that.  Even more damning is the heart to heart where this is explained to Vanja.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

