Broo-ding no more

My regular readers are well aware at my terrible attempts at humour to title my entries.  This title is so funny it needs to be explained.  Right, cause only the best jokes need an explanation.

Beastman Warrior by Reaper Miniatures.

Beastman Warrior by Reaper Miniatures.

Years and years ago there was an RPG put together by the unholy union of Chaosium and Avalon Hill called RuneQuest.  For those who have played it, they will agree it is was a very good game.  Very mythical feel and high mortality rate.  But, the reason I mention it is one of the two unique monsters it had: Broo.

The Broo are a terrible monster that was humanoid with the head of a deer, goat or stag.  They were immune to all poisons and disease and worshipped disease spirits.  They rubbed dung and rotting flesh into their manes and coated their weapons in whatever virulent poison or toxin they could find.  They wandered wastes and ruins and were essentially the embodiment of destruction.

Beastman Warrior by Reaper Miniatures.

Beastman Warrior by Reaper Miniatures.

My readers who are able to place together this description can easily understand why GamesWorkshop stole this idea to create their Beastmen…although they left out the grimmer and devious descriptions of the Broo.  The Broo had a special place in my heart for just how depraved they were and the descriptions of their traps and lengths to defile and destroy.  I had witnessed how 4 completely annihilated an experienced party in the span of about one minute game time.

As my embedded pictures show, I managed to paint up a couple of new minis after my long hiatus.  The break was long for a very good reason: work kept me busy.  I was sent to Norway for work a bit last minute for about a month.  Leading up to that I was very busy with work to get everything squared away before I left.  Since I have been back I have still been busy playing catch-up and a stretch of long hours last week.

Beastman Warrior by Reaper Miniatures.  Hayden by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Beastman Warrior by Reaper Miniatures. Hayden by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Anyhow, I will be busy in the near future again but I enjoyed having a bit of time for brushwork.  A nice piece of hobby sharing are pics of my climb of a mountain in Norway.  These images were taken with an eye to showing of the scenery of Norway and to provide some images for use in terrain.  Of course I did take a picture of a cave to try convincing my daughters it was where a dragon lived…they didn’t seem impressed.

First plateau of Priekestolen (30m elevation)

First plateau of Priekestolen (30m elevation)

View from first plateau (approx. 30m elevation)

View from first plateau (approx. 30m elevation)

The slope from the top right is gentler than the actual climb.

The slope from the top right is gentler than the actual climb.

Dragon cave.

Dragon cave.

Lake half way up the mountain (approx. 300m elevation)

Lake half way up the mountain (approx. 300m elevation)

View from the "Pulpit" summit.  (approx 600m elevation)

View from the “Pulpit” summit. (approx 600m elevation)

Hopefully something inspired you today, if nothing else to try something different…like climb a mountain.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Broo-ding no more”

  1. Subedai says :

    Those are great beastmen, very vicious and twisted looking. I think I need them for my collection. Nice photos from Norway – they did motivate me to get more mountainous craggy terrain pieces!

  2. mistervee2 says :

    There is an enemy I haven’t roleplayed against in a long time.

Leave a Reply

