Breaking the Curse

Since the inception of my blog of so many years ago, there has been a disturbing trend.  It seems whenever I post a WIP for a miniature, that miniature tends to languish unfinished for quite some time.  There have been a couple of exceptions, but I did actually finish a miniature today.

This isn’t my best work to date, but it was my attempt to blend a new flesh tone.  I was trying for the dark West/Southern Asian skin tone predominate in India and Pakistan, but I will let my readers be the judge on the end result.  Yes, I know the hair is the wrong colour.  She is also wearing a Japanese headdress with an Egyptian staff and a Frank Frazetta-esque outfit.

Alahazra by Reaper Miniatures.

Alahazra by Reaper Miniatures.

Alahazra by Reaper Miniatures.

Alahazra by Reaper Miniatures.

The cloth photographs well, but there are some imperfections.  The biggest issues stem from the primer.  For the last couple figs I have primer I noticed the primer left clumpy residue.  That alone is the reason for some unfinished figs.  If you plan on painting Bones, this is something I have noticed more than on other figs.  I am not sure if it a property of the material and the primer or the material holding onto moisture or dust.

On that note, I have started to hand prime my figures.  As a result of the latest wash/base coat, I decided to try a few new flesh techniques.  I am going to try layers with washes over a base coat for this guy.  I am also trying to put the tattoo under the skin if you will: I applied blue around the eyes and arms prior to the heavy flesh base.  It is faded quite a bit but the effect remains.

Thund Bloodwrack by Reaper Miniatures.

Thund Bloodwrack by Reaper Miniatures.

Hopefully something inspired you today.  I know it was a short post, but I hope to get up into a semi-regular posting schedule again.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Breaking the Curse”

  1. Terry says :

    I have actually heard on several occasions NOT to prime the bones, as there is something about the material that accepts the paint without it. Give it a try on a figure & see.

Leave a Reply

