WIP it Good

Or for those who like words spelt right: Whip it Good.  I have had very little hobby time since my last update, but I feel that time has been fairly productive.  In addition to progress on the stair room featured in the last update, I have a couple more projects on the go.

Vanja Fire Giant Queen by Reaper Miniatures

Vanja Fire Giant Queen by Reaper Miniatures

First we have Vanja at the 99%.  Since taking this pic I have added highlights to her hair and I will obviously finish her base.  Only a tabletop level right now, I still have the option to make her better with corrections to my errors.  For now, this girl can proudly shake off the kiss of death of being featured in an earlier WIP.

I went with metallic paint for the jewelry with very crude light source added to the jewels.  A simple but effective paint scheme.  I notice other people have done her with a bare midriff but I think the layered armour look is better.  At about 18′ maybe she could get away with the chainmail bikini but I would rather she wore proper armour.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.

A couple new dungeon sections have been started.  In fact I have finished one (barring paint of course).  The two-level storeroom pictured helped me realize something about my molds.  There are 1″x1″ floor tiles and 1″x1/2″ floor tiles.  Or so I thought.  When I did the previous stair room I noticed that one of my walls didn’t line up properly and my bricks had gaps.  I just chalked it up to my skill fade and sloppy work.  It wasn’t until I did this piece I realized that the half-wide pieces are in fact about 1/32″ longer than an inch.  this means using them as floor tiles will have an uneven length.  So this wall has a few weird gaps in the walls I have had to deal with and it isn’t 100% squared off wall to corner.  Oh well, live and learn.  I think this piece will look good enough.  More importantly, it give me another multi-level piece.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.

I have been wanting to play around with levels and adding a vertical dimension to my games of Dungeon Down.  It isn’t to say it changes much, just gives some visual variety and cool changes.  The changes in level do give some more options.  I am also thinking of doing some corridor sections with stairs too just to add to the multiple level options.

To further enhance the multiple levels I have also put together these two pieces.  Don’t let the simple shape fool you, I have not completely lost it.  These are not giant dice either.  So what are they for you ask?

These next few pictures demonstrate how they can support multiple levels.  Simply put, these let me turn any piece into a second floor piece.  I will throw a few more together obviously for the larger pieces and to let me have entire lengths of corridor that span distances.

A pretty short update today, but hopefully still inspirational.  This year has been a bit sporadic due to busy periods at work but I still managed to keep it more or less current for the regular readers.  My next update will likely see my year in review, including my shameful lack of achieving hobby goals.  Happy New Year in the interim.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “WIP it Good”

  1. daggerandbrush says :

    Inspirational indeed. Really like your approach to multilevel dungeoneering. I also like your version of vanja. A very cool colour scheme and I also approve of paintign her armour as layered. I might get the greenstuff out and sculpt her a proper armour when I get to mine. can’t stand the whole chainmail bikini look. I hope for more dungeon goodness in the new year :).

    • hosercanadian says :

      Sculpting would certainly improve that area. I assumed it was armour based on the placing and how smooth it was. No anatomy curves or shapes there. Glad you liked the dungeon multilevel approach. Just my take on the Hirst Arts method.

Leave a Reply

