Scarecrow Confederate

Today I had a bit of free time so I threw together this little guy here.

Gauntfield by Reaper Miniatures

Gauntfield by Reaper Miniatures

Nothing too fancy, just mixed shades for the blue pants and brown cloak with a few lighter shades for the sack, hat, and boots.  The scythe blade is the first weapon I have painted with non-metallic in a while and I may go back and highlight it a bit more to actually try doing a proper non-metal metal effect on it.  Naturally he hasn’t received the basing treatment yet, I have a few who need some putty thrown around, that will likely be a project for another day.

Gauntfield by Reaper Miniatures

Gauntfield by Reaper Miniatures

Gauntfield by Reaper Miniatures

Gauntfield by Reaper Miniatures

As I painted him up, I wasn’t sure how I wanted to use him.  He is obviously a good stand in for a Pathfinder villain in a published scenario I played, but I wanted to make him something different in Dungeon Down.  So I figured he would have a scaring attack (I know so creative).

But, as I worked on the figure, I wondered, why exactly does he carry that sack.  Is he Jack Skellington carrying his bag of tricks and treats for Christmas Eve?jackskellington

Gauntfield by Reaper Miniatures

Gauntfield by Reaper Miniatures

The hat band screamed yellow to me, so I painted his hat very much like a rebel cavalryman…although I would not want to see the horse he rides in on.  Fast forward a few stages of my rambling mind and I decided he would be a more positive piece of Americana…Johnny Appleseed.  But instead of sowing apples wherever he goes, I see him planting skeletons.

So a new creature is born for my game, a monster who spreads skeletons around.  This guy will be quite the tough nut to crack I am sure, so I look forward to playing him in a few games.

Another short post, maybe my previous guess of none before the new year was a bit off.  Hopefully this was inspirational for you, even if short.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

