Super New Year

After a long year, it is rewarding to look back on how the year progressed and note achievements.  It also doesn’t hurt to acknowledge failures with a bit of chagrin either.

I started 2015 with a fairly short list of goals to achieve, let’s start off by reviewing those.

1. Finish the half-timber row of houses and build another one.

Well, that was a bit of a bust.  I have the first row nearly finished…just need to shingle two more rooftops.  I have zero progress on a second row of buildings…not even a plan drawn up.  The building does look good, I think.

Half-timbered row house terrain.  Est. circa 2009.

Half-timbered row house terrain. Est. circa 2009.

Scratchbuilt half-timber row-houses.  Reaper Miniature Marius Burrowell.

Scratchbuilt half-timber row-houses. Reaper Miniature Marius Burrowell.

2.  Finish the dwarven ruins and complete some additional scatter pieces.

Yeah, all I managed to do was basecoat that piece.  Complete failure on this one.

Dwarf ruins for use in Games Workshop Lord of the Rings.  Figures by Games Workshop.

Dwarf ruins for use in Games Workshop Lord of the Rings. Figures by Games Workshop.

3.  Build 3 scratch-built tanks/APCs.

Yeah, nothing to report here.  To be honest, these have been back-benched as I find I am playing less and less of 40K again.  So much time to set-up and not a game I enjoy playing that much.  Maybe at some point they will get finished.

Devil Dog half-finished project receiving a new powertrain.

Devil Dog half-finished project receiving a new powertrain.

4.  HOTT Orc army finished.

Well, I did manage to repaint two of the pike units I botched.  But that is it.  Also a project that has gotten bumped down in priority.

Games Workshop Lord of the Rings as HOTT horde.

Games Workshop Lord of the Rings as HOTT horde.

So now it begs the question…what did I accomplish this year?

In counter point to #1, I have the start of a sci fi urban city, complete with 4 cars (and another 3 in various stages of completion).

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

CarsGroup1

In counter point to #2, I have completed 5 dungeon sections and 4 in progress.  The most complex in progress being the library but still playable at its current state.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon.  Hayden Hasslefree Miniatures.  Alain Iconic Cavalier, Brother Roberto and Jolie Female Scribe by Reaper Miniatures.

Hirst Arts Modular Dungeon. Hayden Hasslefree Miniatures. Alain Iconic Cavalier, Brother Roberto and Jolie Female Scribe by Reaper Miniatures.

I don’t really have a counter to not finishing the orc army.  This year I have completed painting 62 miniatures.  I am surprised by the large number myself, but it is all there through my past posts.  Wow, that is quite the accomplishment alone.  In fact, there are more that were painted but never posted because they turned out badly.

Reaper Bones monsters...cue the rampaging hordes and ominous music.

Reaper Bones monsters…cue the rampaging hordes and ominous music.

Also accomplished this year was substantial leaps forward in Dungeon Down development.  This might be ready for the eyes of the general public pretty soon.

So what does this year bring?  Well the title is a spoiler.  I have been bitten by the superhero bug lately.  Between the excellent movies coming out and the tv series my wife has gotten wrapped up in, I feel more than a little nostalgia for comic books.  So I took the plunge and ordered my first batch of heroes (and villains) in tights.  This brought my attention back to (some of) the Hasslefree Miniatures modern miniatures I had kicking around.  After looking at them, I realized that I have a dead ringer for Black Widow and Nick Fury (from the comic books anyways).

Ekaterina by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Ekaterina by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Cobra by Hasslefree Miniatures

Cobra by Hasslefree Miniatures

I know that my Nick Fury is actually supposed to be Kurt Russell from the “Escape From” series of movies but once I am done, I am fairly confident he will look like a good Agent of Shield.

As I bought these models for cool factor without a plan for them, I feel this is a good move to use them.  As a plus, they will also be painted into tactical combat style so will still be used in other games where warranted, well not so much these two as the others below.

Nomad, Deano, and Widow by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Nomad, Deano, and Widow by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Undead Outlaw by Reaper Miniatures

Undead Outlaw by Reaper Miniatures

Also added into the mix is the start of my own version of the Saint of Killers from Preacher.  I decided to go more undead with him, and I will have to tone down his abilities just a little bit…this cowboy could do more damage than the Avengers on a bad day.  Pretty crude so far, but he is a WIP.

Now the only issue I see might come out, is trying to find a game system to use.  Pulp City seems like a great game, and I read through the quick play rules.  Seems to capture comic book style fights and cool hero abilities.  There are a couple downsides to that system.  First, it is card based…so you need to use their miniatures.  So I can’t take Ironman and play him, unless they have an Ironman equivalent (they don’t as near as I can tell, hence my example of him).  The other one is the complexity.  This game is a dense read and complicated.  This is not a quick pick up and play or teach new players.

I have been toying around with a modern setting version of Dungeon Down.  I had a good set of basic principles that used the same basic mechanics but had a team going through a facility/alien ship/sewer/etc.  So those ideas have a basis for doing a superhero game.  But how do you represent the superheroes and the minions/less than super support?  From my experience, the game already does that.  A level 1 monster is not much  of a threat to a party of level 2 heroes.  But, I have witnessed 3 goblins with bows completely kill a party.  I have also seen higher level guys hammer away on each other for several rounds with minimal effect.  The simple balancing of forces using the levels mechanic still works too.

So all that said and done, I will be working on a super hero game setting this year with all the trappings that go with it.  This means more terrain including cars.  It means lots of minis painted and assembled.  It also means it is a slow burn project that will still let me do other projects too.

So I hope to inspire you to have a super year too.  And remember: no capes.

The Incredibles.  Used without permission.

The Incredibles. Used without permission.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

