The other Fury Road

A busy time having all this vacation.  Between teaching my kids to skate, remembering to skate myself (I think I got those in the wrong order), cooking, cleaning, and other holiday type stuff I also did some painting.

Cobra by Hasslefree Miniatures

Cobra by Hasslefree Miniatures

Cobra by Hasslefree Miniatures

Cobra by Hasslefree Miniatures

Cobra by Hasslefree Miniatures

Cobra by Hasslefree Miniatures

Cobra by Hasslefree Miniatures

Cobra by Hasslefree Miniatures

As the title implies, Nick Fury has gotten some love.  I decided to go with the classic Nick Fury.  This means comic book blue (as shadowed black was a thing of the 90s) and white straps and pouches…because bright white equipment screams super spy.  Alright, maybe not the most subtle, but I am sure he will still play out well.  I am not sure if I want to have him actually be sneaky, but he will have super spy and leader type stuff going on.

I am thinking of doing a freehand SHIELD crest on either his right shoulder or across his back.  I am open to suggestions on which one would look better.  The one unfortunate thing I noticed while painting him is that I somehow mangled his left arm.  It looks gouged a bit, and I am not sure if it was from when my file slipped or what.  From arms length it isn’t noticeable so hopefully nobody wants to pick up this guy.

Undead Outlaw by Reaper Miniatures

Undead Outlaw by Reaper Miniatures

Undead Outlaw by Reaper Miniatures

Undead Outlaw by Reaper Miniatures

Also seeing some brush time is the Saint of Killers.  I am not too sure about the face, it looks too white but I think the Bones details aren’t deep enough for the washes to settle into.  It isn’t quite so white in hand, but the camera and my poor photography are washing it out.  Other than the face, I am pretty sure he is good enough.  I may also go back and do some more on his gun too.  As a villain who will only fire six shots in a game, I think he is good to go.

I am very happy with both the pants and jacket.  I was trying for the dusty worn look of…well an undead cowboy.  The several shades of grey I did (not quite 50) capture the faded and dusty look.

A short post, but hopefully inspirational.  For those keeping track, second day of the year, one finished mini.  For those not keeping track, I hope this inspired you to carry on with the new projects of 2016 with gusto.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “The other Fury Road”

Leave a Reply

