I’m not dead yet…

And my vacation isn’t done yet…although I am in the hours left now.  Once I get back to work I know I will be very busy so I don’t expect as many posts…in fact I might go through until late February before the next one.  Did I mention my new job at work is very busy?

Anyhow, yesterday and today were very productive.  On the building front I managed to assemble 3 buildings and plastered two of them and my bus shelter.  Sadly I forgot to sand any of them so the plaster isn’t staying on well.  I will see how well it stays on after another couple days and try painting.  I also found out that the white glue doesn’t work well on the garbage bags to foam.  The glue stuck very well to the bags but not to the foam.  The glue also left a very obvious film on the bags.  So I was able to easily pop the bags off and peel off the glue.  The bag I attached to one of the sheet-metal fences stayed attached very well though.  If you are going to use my garbage bags idea I recommend using superglue to attach them to things unless attaching it to a porous surface with a large flat contact point.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

I also managed to finish painting the last big building I had sitting as a WIP.  I also added a small shop to this one through the simple addition of a sign.  Not fantastic, but I am planning to go back and put bright green in the centre of the letters to evoke neon.

Also worth noting is the new finishing technique I tried.  I have gone with an even lighter final highlight and it makes the building look newer and in better repair.  It doesn’t stand out from the others but still blends in.

Cobra by Hasslefree Miniatures as Nick Fury.

Cobra by Hasslefree Miniatures as Nick Fury.

Cobra by Hasslefree Miniatures as Nick Fury.

Cobra by Hasslefree Miniatures as Nick Fury.

Getting some more brush time is Nick Fury.  I finally decided I had practiced the SHIELD logo enough and gave it a shot on him.  Although not my best freehand, I think it works pretty well, especially at arms length away.  To put it into perspective, the circle for the SHIELD crest is 2mm diameter.  Probably the tiniest freehand I have done, although I did do better ones in practicing for this guy.

Zombies by Reaper Miniatures

Zombies by Reaper Miniatures

Also seeing some paint time are the zombies from Bones 2.  I wasn’t sure if these would work as modern or fantasy models until I actually looked at them.  They didn’t get much love from me, there are even still mold lines on them.  The pale blue shirt model actually has a buttoned shirt and the blue vest guy is obviously wearing either a jean or leather vest so very modern zombies.  That being said, they still will work as fantasy as none of the details are hugely obvious.  At their very low price, they are the cheapest zombies in 28mm.  I should say the cheapest still available.  If you aren’t tracking, Wargames Factory has essentially gone under.  Their products are now sold exclusively through Warlord Games…who have yet to put any of the product up for sale 4 months later.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Anyhow, although my finished building has a store, I did a proper corner store/grocery store too.  This building is the first multi-level without external stairs or a balcony.  There will be a rooftop sign on the corner with the door facing in two directions.  I am also going to put hinged doors on top of the dumpster in the back.  Although it is attached to the building, it isn’t out of the ordinary.  I have seen garbage can containers like this before.  I will try making several free-standing dumpsters too to add that ambience to the back alleys.

These large square windows will actually be the first real windows I will be doing for the buildings.  I will be attaching clear plastic sheets (plastic from miniature blisters) that are covered in posters and advertisements.  If you have ever been in a small town store or an older neighbourhood store you will know exactly what I mean.  This is for two reasons.  First, the interiors aren’t finished and big windows would mean  I would have to finish them.  Second, the dirty poster-filled windows will keep in the theme of the building I am going for.  I did consider boarding up the windows, or a window, but I will keep that for a future building.

Nick Fury battling zombies.

Nick Fury battling zombies.

For a bit of an action shot we see Nick Fury forced to fight his way through a horde of zombies.  Are they supernatural?  A nefarious Hydra plot?  Of just finished minis being show-cased.  Tune in for the next episode to find out.

Hopefully today’s post was inspirational to you.  If nothing else it shows how a bit of practice can give you tiny little details to finish a mini or terrain project.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “I’m not dead yet…”

  1. imperialrebelork says :

    Terrain looks fantastic

  2. daggerandbrush says :

    Very cool stuff you made. The WIPs look great and the finished pieces have a nice distopian look to them. I, too, find it frustrating that WGF products are not available anymore. I still have some skeletons, but would not mind another box, they are just too useful and the weapon bits are great, too. Looking forward to more Zombie goodness.

Leave a Reply

