Impending doom

As the name implies I have done some work on Dr. Doom.  I also managed to get my brush to figure too.

Dr Dread by Reaper Miniatures.  Proxy for Dr. Doom.

Dr Dread by Reaper Miniatures. Proxy for Dr. Doom.

Dr Dread by Reaper Miniatures.  Proxy for Dr. Doom.

Dr Dread by Reaper Miniatures. Proxy for Dr. Doom.

Dr Dread by Reaper Miniatures.  Proxy for Dr. Doom.

Dr Dread by Reaper Miniatures. Proxy for Dr. Doom.

First up, the man of the hour.  I am working in stages on his hood, so there will be a bit more cleaning up.  I have already smoothed out the transition at the top of the hood to the peak as I type this and the gaps in his hood will be filled in too.

His cowl will fold out from his face a bit to frame it, but I want to make sure it covers his face from the side as it is in the comics.

Although the pulled back peak is a bit old fashioned, it does match his profile in the comics so it is a must to include.  I was going to fray the edges of the cloak but thought better of it.  Dr. Doom is the leader of Latveria, a 2nd world nation.  I imagine he has staff who are on stand by to bring him fresh cloaks whenever they become torn or dirty.  Almost laughable, but also a sign of his domineering personality and focus on image.

Overall, I am happy how this ominous villain is progressing.

Urban sheet metal fence.

Urban sheet metal fence.

Urban sheet metal fence.

Urban sheet metal fence.

As I alluded to, some other figures got some brush time too.  The slum fences are painted, and crude as they are, I think they fit the bill nicely.  A splash of colour and good line of sight blockers, they will see a lot of use I am sure.

Ekaterina by Hasslefree Miniatures as Black Widow proxy.

Ekaterina by Hasslefree Miniatures as Black Widow proxy.

Ekaterina by Hasslefree Miniatures as Black Widow proxy.

Ekaterina by Hasslefree Miniatures as Black Widow proxy.

Ekaterina by Hasslefree Miniatures as Black Widow proxy.

Ekaterina by Hasslefree Miniatures as Black Widow proxy.

Ekaterina by Hasslefree Miniatures as Black Widow proxy.

Ekaterina by Hasslefree Miniatures as Black Widow proxy.

Thanks to the feedback from Dagger and Brush I have added a bit more colour to Black Widow.  I am very happy with how the flush and rosy cheeks brought her skin tone back to the world of the living without taking away the very pale skin tone.

For those wondering, this is a simple matter of wetblending.  I mixed in a dark red to a slightly darker skin tone and splashed it across her cheekbones and down.  I then mixed a paler skin tone and blended the flush into her skin to localize it to the top of her cheeks like a deadly spy version of Anne of Green Gables (pigtails optional).

I kept her body suit as dark as it was before as the flush to the cheeks brought the skin down a shade and went for a dark grey for her belt, backpack, and holsters.  I did a slightly different shade to her body armour plates.

Finally I painted her pistol as a Glock, because that is what Kevin White sculpted.  I am very impressed that I can identify the pistol and even the subtle highlights to chrome are all that are needed to identify the model too.  I’m not a gun nut, but I am familiar with the Glock and I am a fan of it’s accuracy and precision.  Most folks who have fired both swear by the Sig Sauer but I prefer the Glock.  It is lighter and has a composite construction: the upper receiver, barrel, and trigger are metal, the rest of the grip a high density resin.  The molded grip allows a natural solid grasp so aligned shots is very easy.  Gun rant aside.

To show off Black Widow, I felt the best scene was having my two stealthy ladies squaring off on a rooftop for a John Woo dual pistol showdown.  Snappy one liners and light drizzle not included.

Nightslip by Reaper Miniatures.  Ekaterina by Hasslefree Miniatures as Black Widow proxy.

Nightslip by Reaper Miniatures. Ekaterina by Hasslefree Miniatures as Black Widow proxy.

Nightslip by Reaper Miniatures.  Sci Fi urban terrain.

Nightslip by Reaper Miniatures. Sci Fi urban terrain.

Hopefully something inspired you today, if nothing else that a little effort and focus can help you finish those ongoing projects.  And to leave you with something new, here is the finished “neon” sign, although I don’t know if I want to add some object source lighting to the sign.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Impending doom”

  1. imperialrebelork says :

    It’s all shaping up really well mate. Good job

Leave a Reply

