Your Doom is (not quite) sealed

I managed to sneak a bit of hobby time in this week and I did some more work on Dr. Doom.

Dr Dread by Reaper Miniatures.  Proxy for Dr. Doom.

Dr Dread by Reaper Miniatures. Proxy for Dr. Doom.

At this point I am not sure if I want to call him finished or not.  If he isn’t done, I don’t know what else to do (other than basing).  I’m concerned if I add more highlights his armour will read too light, as it was dark metal in the comics (and even darker in the two latest film versions of him).

Dr Dread by Reaper Miniatures.  Proxy for Dr. Doom.

Dr Dread by Reaper Miniatures. Proxy for Dr. Doom.

I added some highlights to him last time including wet-blending and used my brush to accentuate the chain while hiding my mistakes.  I also selectively highlighted him to give deep shadows.  I think I succeeded: while I was painting him I kept trying to turn him in the light to see him better…the whole time both my lights were directly on him with no shadow.

To show him off in an action shot, I figured it was time to bring all my heroes figs painted so far to bear.

Dr. Doom commands his zombies to attack Nick Fury and Black Widow while White Huntress lurks nearby to land the killing blow.

Dr. Doom commands his zombies to attack Nick Fury and Black Widow while White Huntress lurks nearby to land the killing blow.

If only Nick Fury and Black Widow had even one Avenger to help them.  But who could get there fast enough to help and save the day?

Dr. Doom commands his zombies to attack Nick Fury and Black Widow while White Huntress lurks nearby to land the killing blow.

Dr. Doom commands his zombies to attack Nick Fury and Black Widow while White Huntress lurks nearby to land the killing blow.

If you have any suggestions on Dr. Doom, please let me know.  I won’t have much hobby time in the near future but I look forward to executing any advice before moving on to the next guy.  Hopefully something inspired you today, if nothing else to break out your latest project to snap a few diorama pictures.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

