Ironing out some creases

To keep my regular readers happy, of course my obligatory corny title reveals the content: an update on Ironman.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures.  Ironman proxy.  Painted from waist down in basic blocks and waist up still in base coat.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures. Ironman proxy. Painted from waist down in basic blocks and waist up still in base coat.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures.  Ironman proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures. Ironman proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures.  Ironman proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures. Ironman proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures.  Ironman proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures. Ironman proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures.  Ironman proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures. Ironman proxy.

I managed to do in the main blocking now.  I have built up from the darker shades leaving them showing through on the edges.  This leave the nicely defined panels and the shadowing of the darker recesses.

Also visible since my last update is the arc reactor and the eyes.  Although subtle, I like the bit of shine I left on the edges of the eyes from the blue.

The metallic bits will be defined and picked out in grey shading to include the boosters on his feet, his blasters in his palms and the hip joints.  The final highlighting on the panels will be done.  I do intend to do some battle damage and I will also be sealing him with a gloss sealer.

The tough decision to make is how to apply battle damage.  I want a few scrapes and scorch-marks.  Placement is easy as I have a few areas that are a bit off shade right now and rather than fiddling with them, I will likely turn them into scrapes with a few trailing and leading lines into them.

The reason that is a tough decision is I can’t decide if I want to seal first then battle damage or battle damage then seal.  I don’t have much experience with sealers so I am looking for a bit of feedback on that.

Anyhow, hopefully something was inspirational today, if nothing else to try the bold and simple shading of comic books.

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Ironing out some creases”

  1. marinealrose says :

    He looks great! On the sealer note, I’m always hesitant to seal before I’m completely done. It’s not something that can be easily removed (that I know of) without removing all my hard work to paint it. So, I would seal at the end.

    • hosercanadian says :

      Thanks for the advice. I was considering that. Based on some other advice I go too I guess I need to find some brush-on matt sealer to do damage control if the damage looks to shiny.

Leave a Reply

