Devo strikes again

Or another WIP…whip it good.

I will be honest that I have done an absolutely terrible job of documenting my conversion of Whiplash.  I started with my long rambling post and a few pics.  I took one more picture…then I sat down and finished most of it.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Wires added to Arc Reactor.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Wires added to Arc Reactor.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash proxy.  Detail of Arc Reactor.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash proxy. Detail of Arc Reactor.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash proxy.  Whip handle detail.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash proxy. Whip handle detail.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash proxy.  Arm detail.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash proxy. Arm detail.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash proxy.

Without further pre-amble, here he is.

To paraphrase all the work, I completed the frame of the Arc Reactor on his chest.  I also completed his whip.

The whip was made from a paperclip bent to shape at the end of the grip.  I then wrapped the whip in thread (3 different threads) to create the tangle of wires shown in Iron Man 2.  From there I measured, bent, re-measured, bent, a few more of those…and finally glued it in place.

Following that it was a simple matter of adding wires to the grip going to his wrist bracer and wires coming from his shoulder pad down to the bracer.

Not a lot to discuss and few pictures.  It reminds me of a cute little tutorial in a White Dwarf years ago.  It was billed on how to paint X model as a Slayer Sword painter.  It started with Step One – clean.  A lengthy paragraph.  Then Step Two – assemble.  Again a lengthy paragraph talking about the merits of leaving some parts unattached for ease of painting or extra detail work.  Step Three – prime.  Again a lengthy write-up on white vs black vs grey.  Airbrush versus spray vs brush.  Step Four – paint.  Here was the joke.  Single picture, short phrase.  Paint the model.  They recommend Citadel paints or something similar.  At this point they showed the same mini completely painted.

Anyhow, I am considering straps on his left arm to secure the wires and adding some long straggly hair sticking out from his helmet.

Other than those few details, I think I am done this conversion.  Unless there are any good suggestions out there.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures.  Ironman proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures. Ironman proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures.  Ironman proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures. Ironman proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures.  Ironman proxy.  Ekaterina by Hasslefree Miniatures as Black Widow proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures. Ironman proxy. Ekaterina by Hasslefree Miniatures as Black Widow proxy.

Also getting too much attention is Tony Stark.  I say too much attention as my highlights went too bright so now I will need to scale Iron Man’s yellow back a bit.  A wash should take care of that.  As comparison of how bright he is, I have a comparison to Black Widow.  He is very vibrant.

I don’t want to keep him this vibrant, even though it evokes the comic stylized colours, because all my other figs are more subdued in colour.  I will put on the battle damage first and then see how much I need to tone down the yellow.

Anyhow, a short update.  I think I have turned the Whiplash/Ivan Vanko theme on it’s ear a bit and have evoked a bit of all the inspirations who have shared that name.  Hopefully this inspires you to add your unique twist onto one of your projects..

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

