Marvel at the power of my whip

Spoiler alert, I did some more work on my Whiplash conversion.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash proxy.  Hair detail.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash proxy. Hair detail.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash proxy.  Hair detail.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash proxy. Hair detail.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash proxy.  Hair detail.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash proxy. Hair detail.

I decided to add in the hair and the strap I mentioned to hold the wires in place.  As it stand now, I have no buckle, but I may go back and add one.  I am glad I added the hair.  For those interested in laughing at 80s era villains, there is a version of Whiplash who wore a leather mask and harness more suited to a Rocky Horror Picture extra than normal comic  book villains.  If you haven’t seen Kick Ass 2, I recommend it just to see how silly such a villain looks when the other actors aren’t told to keep a straight face on camera with it.

I mention Leather-Daddy Whiplash for the sole fact that the hair takes him away from that.  Maybe a bit closer to an 80s metal band…but at least it seems like progress.

I wanted to make the hair flow over the wires connected to his helmet, and based on how it would naturally fall, I left patches of his shoulders uncovered.  To be honest as I was drawing each hair out and teasing it into position I realized the patch over his shoulders defied gravity and logic so I pulled those down to fall how it should.

I should also point out the pictures again served my own selfish needs.  The hair wasn’t quite right on his right side, so after looking at the giant picture, I fixed the patches I needed to.  Sorry, updated pics will wait until next post.

Ms Marvel by Marvel Comics.  Used without permission.

Ms Marvel by Marvel Comics. Used without permission.

Incredible Woman by Reaper Miniatures.

Incredible Woman by Reaper Miniatures.

Incredible Woman by Reaper Miniatures.  Deano by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Incredible Woman by Reaper Miniatures. Deano by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Incredible Woman by Reaper Miniatures.  Ms Marvel proxy.

Incredible Woman by Reaper Miniatures. Ms Marvel proxy.

Incredible Woman by Reaper Miniatures.  Ms Marvel proxy.

Incredible Woman by Reaper Miniatures. Ms Marvel proxy.

Also getting a start on a project is Incredible Woman by Reaper Miniatures.  The costume is pretty obviously She Hulk.  Now, I have never been a fan of her.  I figured she would be a bit smaller so would be possible as any number of heroes…as Deano shows, she is quite large.  So I wasn’t sure and was resigning myself to generic brute type.

Captain Marvel was one character I liked ages ago, at least for the story.  After I stopped following that story, the story changed and became more alien origin…and I never realized the story progressed further and Captain Marvel became a woman and then Ms Marvel.  Why this works is fairly simple: although not always featured, Captain Marvel could change his size slightly.  Having not read any of the Ms Marvel, my image searches have shown at least one panel with her growing in size.  Works for me.

Seeing her as a cool hero, I found the costume that best matches including the triangular collar and then added on the scarf and an edge to mark the legs because I prefer having texture instead of painting on details.  The obvious next stage is to sand down the bottom of her costume to make the greenstuff blend in a bit better.

Short little post, hopefully inspirational…if nothing else to try making the surreal into something more concrete on your projects.  Or, to find a use for those minis your bought without a solid plan.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

