Special shout-out to Ozzy Osborne

I guess a bit of theme music is warranted for this post: music.

If you clicked the link, it should be pretty obvious what I am calling finished.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures.  Ironman proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures. Ironman proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures.  Ironman proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures. Ironman proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures.  Ironman proxy.

Afterburn by Reaper Miniatures. Ironman proxy.

To be honest it is a bit premature.  After I took these pics I noticed I missed the battle damage on his knee.  The very simple effect I did was painting the areas out in black trailing away from the source of the damage in threads.  From there it was a simple layering and wet blending to get the metallic shades.  The glossy sheen is from the semi-gloss sealer I sprayed on.  Overall I am happy.  The base needs to be finished, and I might go with a matt sealer over the exhaust cloud.

The bit of terror I experienced with this guy was after I sealed him.  I brought the mini inside from my garage to dry on the box I had sprayed him on.  I took one misstep, shifted the box and watched as he tumbled down an entire flight of stairs bouncing quite high with each step he hit.

After the calming breath I walked down to assess the damage and saw just a bend in the exhaust cloud and some hairs attached to the still tacky sealer.  I haven’t done the super detailed inspection so if you see other damage, please let me know.

Nomad by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Nomad by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Nomad by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Nomad by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Also seeing a bit of brush time last night were Whiplash and Nomad.  Nomad is one of my Hasslefree Miniatures and he will be one of the Agents I am painting.  I chose to go with an OD green webbing as it doesn’t match the equipment of the others: they use standard issued kit and he grabbed the biggest gun he could and the only kit that could hold his ammo.  I do like the contrast, and I might include it on the other Agents.  I am also going with a dark blue (almost black) for their uniforms.  I think it will visually associate them with Nick Fury without taking away the generic feel to use as other figures too.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash proxy.

Whiplash is getting a brownish-purple armour scheme to match the Marvel comic version of the latest cinematic villain for Iron Man.  I think it looks pretty striking and will make him stand out from the colours of Iron Man’s suit.  I was 50-50 on if I wanted it to look stolen or unique and went with unique.

Short update, and also in the middle of the day.  No I’m not playing hooky from work, I just managed to swing a longer lunch today.  Hopefully this was inspiring to you, if nothing else to use sealer as it protected Iron Man during his maiden flight.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

