Working through the ranks

Ah yes, the bad puns continue.

Yesterday evening I had a chance to add a few more details.  I spent more time working on the details than I intended.

Captain America, second stage of sculpting.

Captain America, second stage of sculpting.

Captain America, second stage of sculpting.

Captain America, second stage of sculpting.

Captain America, second stage of sculpting.  Weird angle to show the elbowpads.

Captain America, second stage of sculpting. Weird angle to show the elbowpads.

I sculpted the elbow pads very quickly, in about 10 minutes.  I was just adding the holes in the right elbow when my hand slipped and I wiped out the left elbow pad.  Quick resculpting, measuring to compare and eyeball verification…then I bumped the left elbow as I was adding more greenstuff to the right elbow.  Sigh.  I think I spent about 45 minutes on the elbow pads.  I didn’t add the attachments as a separate piece as I see these would be included in his tunic.  I am 50/50 on if I want the plates to be included or as separate pieces.  Either way works, so I will see how I decide in the end.  As long as I leave the option to add straps I can still go either way.

I also threw a belt together quickly for him.  I am not 100% on the two band style belt but I figure once I get some pouches and his suspenders on there it will all look good.  Yes, suspenders.  It is one of the costume components I want to continue.  Plus, I may actually put a pouch or grenade on the straps so it will be more like webbing or a load bearing vest than suspenders.  Then again, pretty embarrassing to drop your pants in a fight.  Either way, suspenders are the way forward.

I also salvaged a shield to give Captain America.  I am sure it is the right size based on arm placement and how it matches what portion of his body is covered.  I have it just held on with tape for the pics.  His ball amputation and hand graft will make it fit better and let it rest on his shoulder a bit.  If you are wondering why, look up some videos of hoplite warriors.  The shield was very heavy and not spun around like a plastic trashcan lid as seen in the movie Troy.  Yes, a vibranium shield would weigh less (mostly because it’s imaginary but that is another story) but if you have never tried using a shield or blocker (the football or martial arts variety), I recommend you try a simple exercise.

Captain America, second stage of sculpting.

Captain America, second stage of sculpting.

Captain America, second stage of sculpting.

Captain America, second stage of sculpting.

Find a hardcover book and hold it in your hand with your elbow bent 90 degrees and your arm away from your body.  And hold it.  Yes sounds simple.  But even a light book will start to feel heavy and your army will droop.  Some sort of exercise is based on this principle (isometric I believe) and after having to stand holding something static for a while I believe it.  So that dear readers is why I will have Captain America resting his shield a bit: he might be superhuman but he is also fairly smart.

Anyhow, hopefully this was inspirational for you today, if nothing else to try the little book exercise.  See exercise can be educational.

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Working through the ranks”

  1. Bob in Edmonton says :

    “ball amputation”? Sweet Jesus. what did the Cap ever do to you?

Leave a Reply

