It takes a real man to wear pink

Or purple in this case.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash proxy.

Crosswire by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash proxy.

I have decided to call Whiplash aka Ivan Vanko finished.  I am fairly happy with the NMM I did on his pistons (?) on his back and a couple spots on his gloves.  Given more time I am sure I could bring it to the next level.  In the end though, he is intended to be a playing piece not for display so it is ok if he looks good at arms length.

I added in the lighter purple to his knee pads and I also redid the arc reactor.  The wet-blending went a lot better this time and gave a much more electric look.  Strangely I did less blending and fewer shades.  Go figure.

Right now I am sitting at even numbers for good guys and bad guys (in the super hero department anyways).  The Agents on my table need to get finished, especially Nomad who is sitting half-finished and looking at me with his big sad eyes.  I do also have a whole bunch of troops to act as the army of minions for my various villains.  So there is a bit of work ahead of me.

On the topic of work ahead, here is a quick update on Captain America.  I added the abdomen armour to be similar to the pads of a baseball catcher.  I also added in the ubiquitous suspenders.  I am at a crossroads right now.  I need to decide if I want him to have more of a fabric suit or spandex.

Captain America, third stage of sculpting.

Captain America, third stage of sculpting.

Captain America, third stage of sculpting.

Captain America, third stage of sculpting.

Fabric would give more of a uniform look, but it would cover most of his muscles.  It also would mean adding a bit of sculpting on the joints and creases where fabric folds and creases.  That is both an interesting challenge and a bit of frustration: adding in cloth folds after all the raised areas (like belts) is tougher.  I will make the armour plates and pads part of whatever suit I give him.

Spandex would keep the superhero look.  It would highlight his muscles and still tie to the classic costume worn by Captain America.  It would also look a bit jarring and make tying the armour into the suit a bit more difficult.  The other option is to split the difference and go with close-fitting fabric.  I would add in a few creases but the muscles would still be fairly obvious.  That might be the way to go, kind of like Under Armor meets actual armour.

To close it off I give you an action shot that would have made the final fight scene of Iron Man 2 a bit less of a difficult challenge.

Crosswire, Afterburn and Clay Golem by Reaper Miniatures.  Whiplash, Ironman and Hulk proxies.

Crosswire, Afterburn and Clay Golem by Reaper Miniatures. Whiplash, Ironman and Hulk proxies.

Anyhow, hopefully this short post was inspirational to you.  If nothing else it shows how a bit of creative brushwork can fix your previous mistakes and make a figure pop.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

