Shopping Time

I decided to take a break from working on Captain America to finish off a few terrain projects that weren’t finished.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

The most work was spent on the shop.  As I was going for a corner store type building, so the signage and adverts are designed to reflect that look.

The dumpster was the first of possibly many to come.  I may go back with stencil type lettering to give it company name.

The biggest new piece for this terrain is the use of plastic windows.  As my WIP showed previously, I cut down to the paper on the outside on the inside of the walls.  This gave enough room to glue in the plastic sheets.  Prior to gluing them in I attached the flyers and posters to the inside of the “glass”.  As a final tough, I did a wash with brown to give the windows a dirty, streaked appearance to fit in.  I also did throw in a rolling door which is new too, but not really much of a step up.  Not as visible due to a bit too much light is the wash of grime and rust pools I did on the roof and walls.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

The other two buildings are no major changes from my other buildings in this style, aside from the inset piping.  I like how that looks and have started to incorporate it into the other buildings I have started.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Also getting finished was the first bus/transit stop.  After some back and forth, I decided against the plastic windows.  Partly because I am not 100% on how it would look.  The other part being on how sturdy it would be.

As an action shot, today I demonstrate why Bruce stopped taking the bus to work…just too frustrating.

Sci Fi urban terrain.  Clay Golem by Reaper Miniatures as Incredible Hulk proxy.

Sci Fi urban terrain. Clay Golem by Reaper Miniatures as Incredible Hulk proxy.

A short post today, but hopefully inspirational.  If nothing else, it might give you that nudge to try raising your projects to the next level with the little details.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

