Avengers and X-Men and Spiders, oh my

I had a bit of free time this morning and was able to make a bit of progress on a few figs.

Captain America, sixth stage of sculpting.

Captain America, sixth stage of sculpting.

Captain America, sixth stage of sculpting.

Captain America, sixth stage of sculpting.

Captain America, sixth stage of sculpting.

Captain America, sixth stage of sculpting.

First off, Captain America’s boots got a bit of progress.

As shown, I have added in the laces to the front and the edge flaps that hold the boots together.  Yes, the entire top will get blended down, but the laces were my priority for this morning.  I stopped the laces from going the full way up as I am putting the shin guard on and there is little reason to do work that will not be visible.  In fact, most of the laces I did sculpt likely won’t be visible.  Oh well.  Slowly but surely he is taking shape.

I have decided I will add a bit of fabric bunching on his knees, at his boots, and butt…in short the places that would show the difference between spandex and fabric.  But now I need to stop my half-ass periodic sculpting of hands and heads…the time for those parts is coming fast.

Storm, first stage of sculpting.

Storm, first stage of sculpting.

Storm, first stage of sculpting.

Storm, first stage of sculpting.

Storm, first stage of sculpting.

Storm, first stage of sculpting.

Second, we have my second sculpt shown.  My wife’s favorite super hero is Storm from X-Men.  Now, she has had a variety of costumes over the comics and movies so I asked her which one she wanted, and it is Halle Berry as Storm from the first two X-Men movies.

So far I have added the join between her breasts (including the zipper) and the flared bottom of her pants.  The zipper does go all the way up to her collar but her collar will have to wait for the head so I will leave room to blend and tie it in and carry on once her head is done.  After trying a few different poses, including a walking pose, I decided to have her flying.  Her left hand will be a fist and the direct of her focus.  A flying Storm ready to call down lightning.  Again, I am sure there are better pics that could be taken, but these are the ones I needed to see my work.  I am still not 100% with the right pant bottom but I will leave it for now.  At normal scale it looks good.  I did resculpt these 4 times (and her chest twice because of fat fingers).

Blood Widow by Reaper Miniatures.

Blood Widow by Reaper Miniatures.

Blood Widow by Reaper Miniatures.  Deano by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Blood Widow by Reaper Miniatures. Deano by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Last up today we have a very simple conversion.  I am taking Blood Widow from Reaper and converting her to Spider Woman.  That consists of…well to be honest paint.  She is a bit taller than Deano, but she is standing on her tip toes, so she is actually a bit shorter than him.  And yes, for the hard-core comic nerds, yes she was an Avenger too.  And a Hydra Agent.  And a freelancer.  And has worked with multiple heroes and villains.  So overall, she deserves her own category and can be used by any side in the game I am working on.

A short post today, but hopefully inspiring.  If nothing else I hope to inspire you to tackle those bigger projects as smaller bite-sized stages.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

