hosercanadian goes commercial

Or at least my urban terrain can show a commercial district.

Over the past couple of weeks I have been slowly chipping away at a three new buildings and finishing off the bus shelters I have.  But rather than showing them individually, I figured the best way to show them would be laid-out with the other buildings.

The wooden board is approximately 2’x2′ (it is a few inches bigger on one side) and I have laid out the buildings as I have seen in this type of area in many cities: as a tight little maze of alleys with wider streets.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

I think the signs add the bit of colour and variety to make the area seem more real.  I do need to figure out how to lay down a road mat I think to really make it look great.  I am not sure how to do a road mat that will give me versatility while still showing off a nice roadway.

The large anchor building on the intersection is the largest building I have done in this style.  In addition, I had the most fun with the signs.  For those reasons, I have a couple of detailed shots below.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

While this building has no new concepts or ideas, the large commercial signs really make it stand out I think.  I have three ways of doing signs now.  I think the next big building like this may get a third type, the nominal roll type sign that just lists all the businesses in addition to the normal storefront signs.  I realize this will require a fairly large blank space on the building, especially if I do a corner building like this.

Anyhow, with all these buildings laid-out I thought it would be a shame not to include a couple of action shots.

Hulk and Iron Man facing off against Dr. Doom, Whiplash, the Silver Samurai and Spider Woman.

Hulk and Iron Man facing off against Dr. Doom, Whiplash, the Silver Samurai and Spider Woman.

Hulk and Iron Man facing off against Dr. Doom, Whiplash, the Silver Samurai and Spider Woman.

Hulk and Iron Man facing off against Dr. Doom, Whiplash, the Silver Samurai and Spider Woman.

As shown the Hulk and Iron Man find themselves hopelessly outnumbered.  Facing off against so many foes, even Hulk is at risk.  Barely even visible is the White Huntress ready to drop either Hulk or Iron Man.

Is there anybody that can help save these heroes from certain death?

Batman vs Dr. Doom.

Batman vs Dr. Doom.

Did somebody say Marvel/DC cross-over?

Hopefully this short post inspired you today.  If nothing else to take time to pause and consider how much work you have done on a larger project to give you that motivation to keep going.  Next up will hopefully be more progress on Captain America…and maybe even the start of Thor.

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “hosercanadian goes commercial”

  1. imperialrebelork says :

    It all looks fantastic but it definitely needs a road mat or some sort of terrain surface. What about hessian sheet painted up?

Leave a Reply

