Avengers getting assembled (2)

After a pause to do my last post, eat supper, and get the kids to bed I was able to sit down with my tools and the now cured Avengers.

Captain America, eighth stage of sculpting.

Captain America, eighth stage of sculpting.

Captain America, eighth stage of sculpting.

Captain America, eighth stage of sculpting.

For Captain America very little progress since last update, just the first of his knee pads.  I say first as I want to incorporate segmented armour to cover the entire joint.  Once fully cured there will be another plate just above the knee pads.  This will give the illusion of him actually having protected legs, I hope.

Once the next plate is added (and cured) I will move on to his pants first then the straps for his pads.  After that it will be is sleeves and then the dreaded hands and head.

Thor, second stage of sculpting.

Thor, second stage of sculpting.

Thor, second stage of sculpting.

Thor, second stage of sculpting.

Thor, second stage of sculpting.

Thor, second stage of sculpting.

Also getting some progress is Thor.  I am sure some movie fans and comic fanatics will be crying foul at what I am doing, but I am going with my own version of the armour inspired by both the movie and the battle armour from the comics.  The 6 discs that are the Thor trademark will remain…but I will actually give him a 3 piece set of armour.  His tunic and first layer of plate is visible now.  Over the top of his chest will be the final layer of armour with some interlocking triangular patterns.  I will go with some pauldrons that are incorporated into it too.  The final 2 discs of course will secure his cape right above the clavicle.

Although not shown, I am actually sculpting the back as well.  The bottom edge on the back is good and smooth, the layers above less so…I will be putting the next plate over what I cut corners on.  I am taking a page from Kevin White (Hasslefree Miniatures) for this guy: even sculpting what is hidden is sometimes necessary to get the most realistic final effect.

I am very impressed with how quickly he is progressing compared to Captain America.  Maybe it is the new project burst of energy, maybe it is that this is simple shapes than  the detailed very tiny plates and pads for Captain America.  Or maybe, and this is just crazy talk, I am actually improving.  To be honest I think 1 and 2 are probably the closest: I did the second layer of armour in about half the time it took to do one kneepad.

Anyhow, hopefully this quick update inspires you, if nothing else to take advantage of brief windows to help your projects progress.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

