Avengers getting assembled

With a weekend without houseguests or needing to go into work, I managed to make some progress on the 3 minis I am working on.

Captain America, seventh stage of sculpting.

Captain America, seventh stage of sculpting.

Captain America, seventh stage of sculpting.

Captain America, seventh stage of sculpting.

Captain America, seventh stage of sculpting.

Captain America, seventh stage of sculpting.

Captain America, seventh stage of sculpting.

Captain America, seventh stage of sculpting.

First up, Captain America has the start of his lower-leg protection.  I decided to do the basic shin-pad first then build up the knee protector on top of that.  Straps of course will go on once everything is cured.

Also finished are his belt-buckle and the small divot in his chest body armour I kept forgetting to fix.

 

Storm, second stage of sculpting.

Storm, second stage of sculpting.

Storm, second stage of sculpting.

Storm, second stage of sculpting.

Storm, second stage of sculpting.

Storm, second stage of sculpting.

Also getting some progress is Storm.  I added in the fabric bunching behind her bent left knee.  I also added in the piping to her pants leg.  In the Fox X-Men movie, her costume has a very unique set of piping/seam running up both legs, above her hips and down the back of the legs.  To keep with the costume my wife chose, this is one of the key features I think I need to replicate.  Other than that, her sculpt will simply consist of fabric bunching at the bulges and bends.  And I use fabric loosely…this costume is gortex or some other pleather…

Heroic Dolly by Reaper Miniatures.  Reposed to be Thor.

Heroic Dolly by Reaper Miniatures. Reposed to be Thor.

Thor and Captain America.  Notice the size differences and similarities.

Thor and Captain America. Notice the size differences and similarities.

Heroic Dolly by Reaper Miniatures.  Deano by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Heroic Dolly by Reaper Miniatures. Deano by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Thor, first stage of sculpting.

Thor, first stage of sculpting.

Thor, first stage of sculpting.

Thor, first stage of sculpting.

Finally, today also saw me coming up with a solution to a sculpting problem I was having.  I have been wasting green-stuff.  In the early stages of Captain America, I used excess to bulk up some of my larger monster bases.  But, they are all done right now.  I realized if I had another project on the go, I would waste less green-stuff.

One of the toughest Avengers to find a proxy for is Thor.  There are countless forums out there with vain attempts to find suggestions.  It seems a smooth-faced Viking is rare, let alone one who isn’t wearing enough fur to cause seizures in animal rights activists.

So I decided I would sculpt Thor.  For his pose I decided to go with a dynamic hero pose with Mjolnir hanging loosely down by his side and a slightly raised left fist.

As a base I used the Reaper Heroic Dolly.  For size comparison, it matches fairly well with the non-heroic, but a couple of body part ratios are a bit off.  For scale, he matches more or less with Deano.  For the first phase, I added the bottom of his tunic.  I will sculpt from the bottom up on his tunic to get the various layers and straps to get positioned properly.  I will keep his arms bare, and I am not sure if I want tights on his legs (like the comics) or leather-ish pants.  Naturally he will have a giant cape (sculpted last) with the giant round brooches.

Short post today, but hopefully inspiring.  If nothing else, hopefully you try fooling yourself that biting off more is the best way to fix a figurative mouth full of food.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

