Avengers getting assembled (5)

The title holds no secrets, but I am a bit behind schedule.  I spent yesterday afternoon watching a movie with the kids so I likely won’t be able to finish Captain America this weekend.  But, I am sure you are here to see my work.

Captain America, twelfth stage of sculpting.

Captain America, twelfth stage of sculpting.

Captain America, thirteenth stage of sculpting.

Captain America, thirteenth stage of sculpting.

Captain America, thirteenth stage of sculpting.

Captain America, thirteenth stage of sculpting.

Captain America, thirteenth stage of sculpting.

Captain America, thirteenth stage of sculpting.

Not shown yesterday, I did add some details to his helmet including the giant A.  It is out of scale with the actual helmet, but it is visible and clear from table distance away.  So I decided to keep it.  Way too long spent perfecting that.

Today I finished most of the details of his helmet.  I added in the chin-straps and the radio.  I also cleaned up a mistake I missed on the back of the helmet.  The next time I sculpt on the helmet it will be to smooth it out one more time and call that part finished.

I opted for hard ear covers that could be a radio headset or sound-dampeners.  Partly because I hate sculpting ears even more than eyes on a face.  Also because battlefields are noisy.  With a good headset he would still be able to hear around him and the radio, and a bit of noise-cancelling to prevent tinnitus from gunshots and loud blasts.

I have included the face in shadows so those who can’t filter out colours will see how well the sculpting does blend together to look like a real face (and not a black-face miniature).

Overall he looks more like a modern soldier than a guy in tights, but the heroic stance and shield will help identify him as Captain America.  Oh, the giant A on his forehead will help too.

Storm, third stage of sculpting.

Storm, third stage of sculpting.

Just getting a single pic to show the hours worth of work, I trimmed the seam from last time and added the next one.  Slowly but surely Storm will get finished.  Not a project I enjoy as much as it is simply transitions and blending and very little cool details to sculpt.

Mjolnir and amputated hands.

Mjolnir and amputated hands.

Who has also been getting some work is Thor.  The first pic I will show is his hammer.  I have been gradually working on it, and it will take several stages itself.  The flat surfaces are cured and then raised and beveled edges added very slowly.  This shows 2 of the 6 sides done.  The handle will likely get a bit more love too.

Thor, fifth stage of sculpting.

Thor, fifth stage of sculpting.

Thor, fifth stage of sculpting.

Thor, fifth stage of sculpting.

Thor, fifth stage of sculpting.

Thor, fifth stage of sculpting.

Thor, fifth stage of sculpting.

Thor, fifth stage of sculpting.

Today I did two stages of work on Thor.  First I did his left fist, well the first stage anyways.  There will be some more work and thumb added once it is fully cured.  What these pics showcase though is the start of his face.  I added in the eyes and nose, with a base putty to add the cheekbones and brow too.  Not my worst piece of work, I will try to make him look like Chris Hemsworth.  So far the eyes are right, but again the nose is a bit off.  I am thinking of going fully comic style with the helmet.  I will be doing tights for him.  And yes, the boots are taking shape too for the more astute readers.

While he does look like a commedia del arte actor right now, the basis of his face is there.  The chin of course will be built out quite a bit to reflect the rugged features of a son of Odin.

Lots of pics, a bit of progress, and hopefully a little inspirational for you.  If nothing else, for those who have seen my earlier work, this should inspire you to improve your skills too.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

