Proof of life – Or don’t forget me when I’m gone

It has been ages since I last updated.  My wife had surgery a while back so I have been fairly busy looking after her, plus the usual insanity that marks my work this time of year.  Anyhow, to give some perspective (and a bit of music), have a listen to this: Don’t Forget Me When I’m Gone.

The project that got some work since my last post is a 3 storey building I have been building.  I added a few new ideas, including a bit more of a cluttered roof.  As shown by Deano it definitely shows the size.

Sci Fi urban terrain.  Deano by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Sci Fi urban terrain. Deano by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.

Sci Fi urban terrain.  Deano by Hasslefree Miniatures.

Sci Fi urban terrain. Deano by Hasslefree Miniatures.

But you will notice I left off my usual side clutter and none of the corners are clad in card.  I thought I would try a smoother wall and was shown instead my simple buttresses actually do reinforce the walls.

Sci Fi urban terrain.  Note the warping.

Sci Fi urban terrain. Note the warping.

As shown above, the plaster actually pulled in and warped the wall a very appreciable amount.  Looking back at the building front you can see the plaster cracked and the walls pulled apart.  Right now I think I will just add a card clad over the corner and hope the bowed wall isn’t too noticeable.  For the time being, this building will have to do.  The next larger building I do will have some internal framing to push the walls out as well as my buttresses.  Little thing that should stop this disaster in the future.

While watching a movie last night, I also threw a bit of paint on one of my Ford F150 trucks.  The rough splotchy red will look quite faded and worn once I tone back the black and add my dirt and dust treatment.  As shown by Deano, the large doors even give a bit of cover for the clever agent.

Ford F150 Raptor by Kinsmart (1:46 Scale)

Ford F150 Raptor by Kinsmart (1:46 Scale)

Ford F150 Raptor by Kinsmart (1:46 Scale)

Ford F150 Raptor by Kinsmart (1:46 Scale)

Short little update today, but hopefully inspiring to you.  If nothing else to try squeezing in the relaxing hobby time to help keep you sane.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

