I did something

I know I haven’t been updating often.  To be honest, I doubt I can really say I have regular readers.  But I have been doing stuff.  Sort of.

The 40k league in town just wrapped up and somebody made a comment that got me remembering Necromunda so I dug up the latest version of the online rules and shared them with the club.  My cunning plan is to do a bit of terrain off and on and do a event day to build interest and try to do a league in December-January.

Cooling tower for Necromunda made from a not-Pringles can.

Cooling tower for Necromunda made from a not-Pringles can.

If you are not familiar with Necromunda it is Judge Dredd in the 40k universe with more focus on the gangs in the lowest, darkest corners of a megacity.  It has a lot of silliness and very rarely is it worth playing a league for more than 7-8 games as one player gets so ridiculously good it isn’t fun to play against them.

The first piece of terrain I built last weekend is the tower pictured.  As the game is set in a futuristic slum built on the ruins of an even older slum (with the habitable bits towering high above) towers are a hallmark.

Cooling tower for Necromunda made from a not-Pringles can.

Cooling tower for Necromunda made from a not-Pringles can.

More of a proof of concept, I may keep this piece fairly plain and just add doo-dads and graffiti as I paint it.  I built this from a not-Pringles can, did some nylon screen over foamcore and I actually built the ladders.  That took the most time but they are solidly anchored.  I was looking for chickenwire but it is not in the hardware stores right now, I will have to wait until spring.

The blog will showcase a bit of a how-to on building a gang as the official models are out of production and sell for a king’s ransom online.  Instead, I will do a tutorial for the benefit of the local club on how to convert and build a gang.  Watch this space if that interests you.

Cooling tower for Necromunda made from a not-Pringles can.

Cooling tower for Necromunda made from a not-Pringles can.

The blog will go through a bit of slow down again fairly soon as we have one of the busy periods at work coming up.  However, my role this year will be drastically changed.  This means the blog might get the odd update before December.  I won’t make promises but I do have a much lighter workload this year since most of my work for this period was lead-end work (I’ve been killing myself before anybody else gets busy).

A short post with few pics, but hopefully inspirational.  If nothing else, it shows you that the dusty old books on your shelf may get a new lease on life in the right circumstances.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

